The University Record, January 31, 2000

Two will receive Henry Russel Award

By Wono Lee
News and Information Services

Jeffrey A. Fessler and Webb Keane will receive the University’s Henry Russel Award.

The annual award is given to young faculty members for scholarly achievement and promise. The award will be presented March 14, followed by the annual Henry Russel Lecture given by a senior member of the faculty. This year’s lecturer is Abigail J. Stewart, professor of psychology and of women’s studies.

Fessler, who joined the U-M in 1993, is associate professor of electrical engineering and computer science, of biomedical engineering and of internal medicine. “His research in tomographic medical imaging, iterative estimation and statistical inverse problems is absolutely first rate and has given him exceptional visibility in academia and industry at a relatively early state of his career,” noted the selection committee. “Furthermore, his investment in research has in no way compromised his commitment to teaching and service.”

Keane joined the U-M in 1997 as associate professor of anthropology. “His areas of expertise include sociocultural theory, language and culture, ritual and religion, exchange and historical consciousness. His profile in the field of anthropology is among the strongest for a scholar at his career stage. His expressed desire to teach undergraduates—especially in larger courses—has been a warmly received asset to our department. Courses on language and culture, which he has taught at both the graduate and undergraduate levels, are a welcome addition to our own program in linguistic anthropology,” said his department.

Both the Henry Russel Award and the Henry Russel Lectureship were established in 1925 with a bequest from Henry Russel of Detroit, who received three degrees from the U-M.