The University Record, June 5, 2000


Lunn receives Heggoy Prize

Joe Lunn, assistant professor of history, U-M-Dearborn, was awarded the Prix Alfred Heggoy Prize (First Prize) by the French Colonial Historical Society at its May 20 meeting for his book Memoirs of the Maelstrom: A Senegalese Oral History of the First World War.

Lee, Saint honored by BCBSM

Jan Lee, associate professor of nursing, received the 2000 Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan (BCBSM) Foundation’s Excellence in Research Award in the area of clinical research for “Does What Nurses Do Affect Clinical Outcomes for Hospitalized Patients? A Review of the Literature,” which appeared in Health Services Research. The award provides $10,000 in research funds to be used for clinical or health policy research.

Sanjay Saint, assistant professor of internal medicine, also received a BCBSM 2000 Excellence in Research Award for Physicians for his work, published in the American Journal of Medicine, examining the effectiveness of a clinical practice guideline for the management of uncomplicated urinary tract infections in women. Saint will use his $10,000 award for future research on clinical protocol and pathway evaluation.

Symposium honors Britton

The accomplishments of Allen P. Britton, dean emeritus and professor emeritus, School of Music, were recognized at a March 6 symposium in his honor sponsored by the National Association for Music Education and the University of Maryland School of Music and Performing Arts Library. Excerpts from Britton’s writings were included in programs throughout the day, and Britton spoke at the symposium by way of a pre-taped interview.

Christiansen given honorary degree

Richard Christiansen, professor of dentistry, received an honorary doctorate from Nippon Dental University, Japan, at a June 1 ceremony on the Tokyo campus.

In 1985, Christiansen founded the International Union of Schools of Oral Health, which has 15 schools around the world as members.

Zink elected as SAEM president

Brian Zink, associate professor of emergency medicine and assistant dean for medical student career development, has been elected president of the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine (SAEM) for 2000–01. SAEM is a 5,000-member organization whose mission is to improve patient care by advancing research and education in emergency medicine.

Mule named to NIH study section

James J. Mule, the Maude T. Lane Professor of Surgical Immunology, professor of hematology and oncology, professor of surgery, director of the Tumor Immunology Program and scientific director of the Bone Marrow Transplant Program, Cancer Center, has been named a member of the Experimental Therapeutics Study Section in the National Institutes of Health Center for Scientific Review. The sub-committee focuses on novel therapies for cancer, especially those making the transition from basic to clinical research.

Turcotte elected vice president of UNOS

Jeremiah Turcotte, professor of surgery, has been elected vice president of the United Network for Organ Sharing (UNOS) and will serve on its board of directors. UNOS maintains the U.S. organ transplant waiting list and brings together medical professionals, transplant recipients and donor families to develop organ allocation policy under contract with the Health Resources and Services Administration of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

U research team receives 2000 Merit in Authorship Award

An interdisciplinary team of researchers from three schools and four departments has won the 2000 Merit in Authorship Award from the American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine for exemplary service and outstanding contributions to the field. James Albers, professor of neurology and of physical medicine and rehabilitation; John Wald, clinical assistant professor II of neurology; Robert Werner, assistant professor of physical medicine and rehabilitation and of environmental-industrial health; Alfred Franzblau, assistant professor of internal medicine, associate professor of environmental health sciences and associate research scientist, Center for Ergonomics; and Stanley Berent, professor of environmental health sciences, of neurology, of psychiatry and of psychology, and director of the Neuropsychology Division, were honored for their article, “Absence of Polyneuropathy Among Workers Previously Diagnosed with Solvent-Induced Toxic Encephalopathy,” published in the Journal of Occupational and Environmental Medicine.

The interdisciplinary research project reflects a history of collaboration facilitated by the Medical School’s Neurobehavioral Toxicology Program, begun about two years ago by Albers and Berent.

HR/AA announces Workplace 2000 Award winners

The following individuals were selected by a group of their peers to receive Workplace 2000 Awards, sponsored by Human Resources and Affirmative Action (HR/AA).

  • Distinguished Service Award, Gail Shelton, security officer, Hospitals Security and Entrance Services. Shelton, a University employee for more than 21 years, was recognized for her exemplary service, special achievement, sensitivity and willingness to help others. She also served on a special loss prevention team that reduced larcenies of Hospitals and Health Centers property by more than $60,000 in 1999. Shelton was described as a concrete model in providing excellence in patient care and services.

  • Outstanding Leadership Award, Michael G. Hanna III, manager, Occupational Safety and Environmental Health. Hanna, who has been at the University since 1972, was nominated by his staff because they feel he has a “management style that brings out the best in his employees.” He has provided flexible work schedules to enable employees to meet family obligations. In addition, Hanna volunteers many hours in his hometown and in southeast Michigan.

  • Exemplary Team Award, Hospitals and Health Centers Security Loss Prevention Team, Corbie Wells, security supervisor; Ralph Raiford, security investigator; and security officers Tricia Laesch, Erik Patterson, Latreece Shedrick, Gail Shelton and Perry Spencer. The team of security officers, formed in 1999, was given the task of reducing loss from larcenies, property damage, and lost personal and institutional property at the Hospitals and Health Centers. Besides boosting morale within its department, the team saw a $60,480 reduction in larcenies in 1999.