The University Record, June 19, 2000


Voorhees, Ellis, Hamilton are among most-cited dermatology authors

Three members of the Department of Dermatology are among the top 10 most-cited dermatology authors for all types of articles in five high-impact general medical journals, as reported in a recent issue of the Archives of Dermatology. John Voorhees, the Duncan and Ella Poth Distinguished Professor of Dermatology and chair; Charles Ellis, professor and associate chair; and statistician Ted Hamilton, health science research associate II, were second, fifth and sixth respectively in citation rank in a study of papers published 1981–98.

Hockey coach Berenson named to Hall of Fame

Ice Hockey Head Coach Red Berenson has been selected for induction into the Saskatchewan Sports Hall of Fame and Museum. This year’s seven-member and two-team class of inductees were recognized at the 37th Annual Induction Dinner June 17 in Regina, Saskatchewan.

Individual members of the Sports Hall of Fame are Saskatchewan natives or residents who have served their sport with distinction. The Hall of Fame includes hockey legends Gordie Howe, Sid Abel and Eddie Shore.

Berenson played professionally for 17 seasons in the National Hockey League with the Montreal Canadians, New York Rangers, Detroit Red Wings and St. Louis Blues, then coached the St. Louis Blues for three seasons. A U-M alumnus, Berenson has coached Michigan hockey for the last 16 years, leading teams to two national championships, nine Central Collegiate Hockey Association regular-season and tournament championships, and six Frozen Four match-ups. Under Berenson, U-M ice hockey has also posted the most wins and the highest winning percentage of any collegiate program in the 1990s and had a graduation rate of more than 90 percent.

Neal appointed to Applications Strategy Council

Homer Neal, director of the UM-ATLAS Collaboratory Project, the Samuel A. Goudsmit Professor of Physics, interim president emeritus and vice president emeritus for research, has been appointed to a three-year term on the Applications Strategy Council (ASC), an advisory committee “that will guide higher education’s advanced networking efforts, including the Internet2 project.”

The ASC advises the board of trustees of the University Corporation for Advanced Internet Development (UCAID) on matters related to Internet2’s applications initiatives.

Members of the ASC possess substantial experience in conceptualization, functionality, technical design, development and use of computer applications for research and education that utilize advanced networking facilities.

Lewis participates in AAU Graduate Education Project

Earl Lewis, dean, Horace H. Rackham School of Graduate Studies, vice provost for academic affairs-graduate studies, and professor of history and of Afroamerican and African studies, will serve on the steering committee for the Association of American Universities (AAU) Graduate Education Project. The project is intended to educate opinion leaders in the government, academe, industry and the news media on what graduate education is and why it is important to society. The committee also will address the role that stakeholders must play for graduate education to remain strong in the United States.

CoE bestows Staff Service Awards

The College of Engineering (CoE) bestowed Excellence in Staff Service Awards to three individuals and a nine-member team at a May 24 ceremony. The individuals honored were Susan Ederer, manager, Development Events, Office of College Relations; Shirley McCoy, administrative associate I, Computer Aided Engineering Network; and Karen Richardson, executive secretary, Center for Integrated MicroSystems.

The Solid-State Electronics Laboratory Emergency Response Team from the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science received the team award. Team members are: Keith Bowerman, engineer in research I; Terre Briggs, engineering technician III; Timothy Brock, senior engineering research associate; Phillip Collica, engineering technician III; William Knudsen, engineer in research II; James Kulman Jr., engineer in research III; Dennis Schweiger, engineer in research III; Frederick Sequin, manager, Solid-State Electronics Laboratory; and Steven Sostrom, senior computer systems specialist.

A committee composed of the previous year’s award recipients made the award selections based on recommendations from staff, faculty and students. Each recipient was given a framed memento and a stipend.

Johnston, McNamara to receive orthodontics awards

Lysle Johnston, chair, Department of Orthodontics and Pediatric Dentistry, and the Robert W. Browne Professor of Orthodontics, has been chosen to receive the American Board of Orthodontics’ highest award, the Albert H. Ketcham Memorial Award, presented annually to an orthodontist who has made a notable contribution to the science and art of orthodontics. Johnston has written more than 50 papers for peer-reviewed publications, authored or co-authored more than 40 chapters for books, and has given more than 300 presentations and lectures to various professional organizations worldwide.

James McNamara, the Thomas M. and Doris Graber Endowed Professor of Dentistry, Department of Orthodontics and Pediatric Dentistry, and research scientist at the Center for Human Growth and Development, will receive the American Association of Orthodontists’ (AAO) highest honor, the James E. Brophy Distinguished Service Award. A recipient of several research awards, McNamara has published more than 140 papers in scientific journals; has written, edited or contributed to more than three dozen books; and has presented courses on orthodontics and craniofacial growth in 27 countries.

The awards will be presented May 2001 at the annual AAO meeting in Toronto.

Kalmbach named Honorary M Man

Bob Kalmbach, University photographer, was named an Honorary M Man by the Graduate M Club at its annual “M Day” on June 2. A familiar face to scores of faculty and staff members, Kalmbach has been with the University since the early 1950s and with News and Information Services since 1972. His work has appeared in hundreds of publications, ranging from Sports Illustrated to National Geographic, and an exhibition of some of his favorite photos is on display at the Alumni Association.