The University Record, March 6, 2000


UMTV wins Communicator Awards

UMTV, the campus cable system and part of the University’s on-campus television production resources, has received three 1999 Communicator awards for programs produced over the past year for cable television and special audiences.

The national awards program honors excellence in the communication field through annual competitions in video, audio and print media. Programs were judged on creativity, resourcefulness and quality.

U-M’s awards were:

Crystal Award of Excellence—“UMTV Time Capsule,” Cable TV/Anthology Program, Open category. Recipient: Erik Olsen, Information Technology Division (ITD). The award acknowledged a newly created graphic introduction for “UMTV Time Capsule,” a retrospective of programs produced by the University over the past 30 years. The programs were distributed nationally during the era of early educational broadcasting, which was the forerunner to the Public Broadcasting Station (PBS). The programs are both timeless and reflective of the times in which they were produced.

Award of Distinction—“Putting It Together: Orientation 1999,” Student Orientation category. Recipients: ITD (Susan P. Harris, Mary Mayer, Nancy Firestone, Greg Marsh, Paul Millis, Terri Saarinen, Karen Dymond, Erik Olsen, Eric Bassey), Office of New Student Programs (Ann Hower, Pamela Vachon), University Library (Laurie Alexander, Linda Ter Haar, Deborah Tenofsky). The orientation video provides an introduction to computing services at the University, following a student who travels to various campus locations to learn about uniqnames and passwords, e-mail, computing sites, residence hall Ethernet, library resources and virtual reality, and to purchase computer hardware and software. While entertaining, the video stresses the importance of being an informed and responsible computer user.

Honorable Mention—“Technology: Possibilities in the Hands of People,” Visionary Concept category. Recipients: Office of the Chief Information Officer and ITD (Eric Bassey, Michael Berger, Josť-Marie Griffiths, Kathleen McClatchey, Erik Olsen) and Biomedical Communications (Christy Carr, Scott Mann). A survey of leading-edge technology applications at the University, the video highlights medical research, community outreach and education using an impressive graphic representation.

Orringer elected STS vice president

Mark B. Orringer, the John Alexander Distinguished Professor of Thoracic Surgery; section head, Department of Thoracic Surgery; and professor of surgery, was elected vice president of the Society of Thoracic Surgeons (STS) at the organization’s 32nd annual meeting.

The Society, which strives to improve the quality and practice of thoracic and cardiovascular surgery, is the largest professional society of cardiothoracic surgeons with approximately 4,000 national and international members.

Thompson named member of Turkish surgical society

Norman W. Thompson, the Henry King Ransom Endowed Professor of Surgery, has been named an honorary member of the Turkish Association of Endocrine Surgery.

Minoshima receives Wagner PET Award

Satoshi Minoshima, associate professor of internal medicine, has received the sixth Henry Wagner Clinical PET Award from the Institute of Advanced Medical Technology in Tokyo.