The University Record, March 27, 2000


Lusk will receive Distinguished Alumna Award

Sally Lusk, professor of nursing, will receive the Distinguished Alumna Award from Indiana University School of Nursing in April.

Lawrence elected to ASCO

Theodore S. Lawrence, chair of the Department of Radiation Oncology, the Isadore Lampe Professor of Radiation Oncology and co-chair of the Experimental Therapeutics Program at the Comprehensive Cancer Center, has been elected to the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO). He will serve a three-year term beginning in May. ASCO is the world’s leading professional society representing physicians from 95 countries who treat people with cancer.

Robillard elected fellow of AAAS

Jean E. Robillard, chair and professor, Department of Pediatrics and Communicable Diseases, has been elected a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world’s largest federation of scientists and publisher of the journal Science. He was cited at the AAAS annual meeting in February “for important contributions to understanding renal development and maturation of kidney function and for leadership in the discipline of pediatrics.”

Royal Society of Medicine honors Gilman

Sid Gilman, the William J. Herdman Professor of Neurology, chair of the Department of Neurology and director of the Michigan Alzheimer’s Disease Research Center, has been elected a fellow of the Royal Society of Medicine. The London-based Royal Society publishes research books and journals, sponsors lectures and conferences, and maintains one of Europe’s leading medical libraries.

Megginson honored by AISES

Robert E. Megginson, associate professor of mathematics, received the 1999 Ely S. Parker Medal from the American Indian Science and Engineering Society (AISES). The medal, AISES’ highest award, is given each year to one scientist, mathematician or engineer for lifetime achievement in his or her profession and service to the American Indian community.

The award is named for Ely Samuel Parker, Seneca, who was one of the first American Indians to become a recognized civil engineer.

Miller appointed to Karolinska Institute

Josef Miller, the Ruth and Lynn Townsend Professor of Communication Disorders and professor of otorhinolaryngology, has been appointed foreign adjunct professor at Sweden’s Karolinska Institute, which grants Nobel Prizes. The appointment was the result of his longstanding research with the Institute. Miller, one of 10 Americans chosen to be a foreign adjunct professor at the Karolinska Institute, will participate in the nomination and selection of candidates for the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine.

Bates elected FARA president

Percy Bates, professor of education and director, Programs for Educational Opportunity, was elected president of the Faculty Athletics Representatives Association (FARA) of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA), at the group’s January meeting. FARA is composed of faculty members at 900 NCAA member institutions who seek to ensure academic integrity, institutional control and student-athlete welfare.

Bates has chaired the faculty representatives group of the Big Ten Conference and has served as the U-M’s faculty representative to the NCAA since 1989.