The University Record, October 4, 1999

19 faculty to be honored for teaching, scholarship, service, creativity

By Mary Jo Frank
Office of Communications

Nineteen faculty members will be recognized for their teaching, scholarship, service and creative activities at a dinner Oct. 6. Awards to be presented include two Amoco Foundation Teaching Awards, five Distinguished Faculty Achievement Awards, five Faculty Recognition Awards, two Distinguished Faculty Governance Awards, the Regents’ Award for Distinguished Public Service, the University Press Book Award, the Distinguished Research Scientist Award and the Research Scientist Recognition Award.

Amoco Foundation Faculty Teaching Awards, which recognize excellence in undergraduate education, will go to Brian P. Coppola, associate professor of chemistry, and John A. Whittier-Ferguson, associate professor of English. Award criteria include the array of courses taught, the development of new courses or revitalization of existing courses, and the strength of the faculty member’s advising and mentoring skills related to undergraduate teaching. The award stipend is $1,000.

Distinguished Faculty Achievement Awards, which recognize extraordinary achievements in teaching, scholarly research or creative endeavors, will be presented to five faculty: John P. Hayes, professor of electrical engineering and computer science; Fred J. Karsch, professor of physiology; K.M. Jairam Menon, professor of biological chemistry and research scientist in the Reproductive Sciences Program; William R. Roush, the Warner-Lambert/Parke-Davis Professor of Chemistry; and Henry T. Wright, professor of anthropology and curator of the Museum of Anthropology. Each will receive a $1,500 stipend.

Five faculty will receive Faculty Recognition Awards: David T. Burke, associate professor of human genetics; Kathleen Canning, the Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, associate professor of history and of women’s studies, and program director of the International Institute; Charles R. Doering, professor of mathematics; George W. Kling, associate professor of biology and assistant research scientist, Center for Great Lakes and Aquatic Sciences; and William H. Pearson, professor of chemistry.

Faculty Recognition Award recipients have made substantive contributions to the University through significant achievements in research and other scholarly activities; demonstrated excellence in teaching, advising and mentoring; and participated in service activities. Each recipient will receive a $1,000 stipend.

Sheila Feld, professor of social work, and John T. Lehman, professor of biology and research scientist, Center for Great Lakes and Aquatic Sciences, will receive Distinguished Faculty Governance Awards, which recognize faculty governance participation over a period of several years, with an emphasis on Universitywide service. Feld and Lehman each will receive $1,500.

Robert E. Megginson, associate professor of mathematics, will receive the Regents’ Award for Distinguished Public Service, which includes a $1,000 stipend. The award recognizes public service activities that relate closely to teaching and research and reflect professional and academic expertise.

Kathryn L. Beam, senior associate librarian and curator of the Humanities Collection of the University’s Special Collections Library, and Traianos Gagos, associate professor of papyrology and Greek, research associate in the Kelsey Museum of Archaeology and archivist of the University Library, will receive the University Press Book Award for their CD-ROM The Evolution of the English Bible: From Papyri to King James. This is the first time the award has been given for an electronic work. Beam and Gagos each will receive $1,000.

Thomas E. Carey, Distinguished Research Scientist in the Kresge Hearing Research Institute, will receive the Distinguished Research Scientist Award. The award recognizes a research scientist or senior research scientist for exceptional scholarly achievement: the discovery and dissemination of new knowledge, the development of innovative technology, or the development of concepts that lead to significant advances in science, education, health, the arts or humanities. The award also recognizes exceptional ability to convey the excitement and significance of scholarship and creative activities to the educated public. Carey will give a to-be-scheduled public lecture in conjunction with the award and receive a grant of $3,000 per year for four years.

The Research Scientist Recognition Award, which carries a $1,000 stipend, will be presented to Michael D. Uhler, senior associate research scientist in the Mental Health Research Institute and associate professor of biological chemistry. The Research Scientist Recognition Award recognizes scholarly promise in primary research faculty related to the discovery and dissemination of new knowledge or the development of innovative technology or concepts that lead to significant advances in science, education, health, the arts or humanities.

Go to extended listing of Faculty Awards.