The University Record, September 7, 1999


Suslow award honors Stark

Joan Stark, professor of education, received the Sidney Suslow Award from the Association for Institutional Research (AIR). Stark was recognized for her impressive, cumulative contributions to the profession. The award is AIR’s highest honor for scholarly research.

Goold receives Johnson Foundation grant

Susan Dorr Goold, assistant professor of internal medicine, has received a four-year, $240,000 grant from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation for “Consumer Values and Preferences in Managed Care.” The project asks volunteer participants to make informed choices about what coverage health insurance should provide and why.

The Foundation’s grant program aims to strengthen the careers of primary care faculty and to improve the education of students in family medicine, internal medicine and pediatrics, and the generalist disciplines. The Johnson Foundation is the largest philanthropy organization devoted exclusively to health and health care.

Award of Merit honors Observatory

The University of Michigan Detroit Observatory received an Award of Merit from the American Association of State and Local History (AASLH) for the quality of its restoration and its museum. A poem by Julie Ellison, professor of English, and the nomination packet’s detail and clarity were factors in AASLH choosing the Observatory.

Dearborn’s Daniele named one of top 100 video producers

David Daniele, media assistant, U-M-Dearborn, was named one of the AV Video Multimedia Producers of 1999. As an award recipient, his personal profile will appear in the November 1999 issue of AV Video Multimedia Producer and on its Web site.

He was nominated by Lawrence Radine, associate professor of sociology, who said, “We need to clone Dave, there’s so much demand for him. We know more about one another’s work today because of Dave’s productions.”

Strodtman given Teacher of Year Award

Linda Strodtman, assistant professor of nursing, received the Mae Edna Doyle Teacher of the Year Award. The award, granted for excellence in teaching, was presented during the School of Nursing’s spring convocation.

Strodtman has been a member of the nursing faculty for more than 20 years. She was recognized during the ceremony for her ability to “inspire her students” and for her dedication to the profession.

Coppola, chemistry to participate in special ACS faculty program

Following a national competition, Brian Coppola, associate professor of chemistry, and the Department of Chemistry were selected by the American Chemical Society to participate in the Shaping the Preparation of Future Science and Mathematics Faculty program. The department will receive $20,000 over two years to develop and implement activities that allow aspiring academics to learn about faculty work and career options.

Chemistry departments at Calvin College, Eastern Michigan University and Grand Valley State University will work with the U-M as institutional partners. The program is sponsored by the Council of Graduate Schools and the Association of American Colleges and Universities.