The University Record, September 13, 1999


Collins receives Flemming Award

Francis Collins, professor of internal medicine on leave at the Human Genome Project at the National Institutes of Health, has received the 1999 Arthur S. Flemming Award for Public Service. Collins was recognized for his work to determine the location of all the estimated 800,000 human genes and to read the entire sequence of genetic instructions encoded in human DNA.

The Flemming Awards, established in 1948, are given to federal officials who exhibit leadership and excellence in public service.

Wiley is Janssen Award winner

The Janssen Award for Research in Digestive Disorders was given to John Wiley, associate professor of internal medicine, at a ceremony in May. Wiley was one of only 14 researchers honored. His research focuses on the effects of aging on colonic function and diabetes mellitus on sensory nerve function.

Aikman, Morrison, Sheng are second-time ASCAP Award recipients

James Aikman, assistant professor of music and postdoctoral scholar, Michigan Society of Fellows; Theodore Morrison, associate professor of conducting; and Bright Sheng, associate professor of music, were recently honored by the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP). Aikman, Morrison and Sheng have been ASCAP Award winners for two consecutive years.

The cash awards given by ASCAP are based on the prestige of the composers’ works as well as recent performances of those works.

Coker Award honors Bentley Library’s Vatican Project

Francis Blouin, Jr, director of the Bentley Historical Library and professor of information and of history, and Leonard Coombs, associate archivist, Bentley Historical Library, received the C.F.W. Coker Award from the Society of American Archivists for their work on “Vatican Archives: An Inventory and Guide to the Historical Documents of the Holy See.” Elizabeth Yakel, former Bentley archivist, and Sister Claudia Carlen, historian for the Vatican Project, assisted in the guide’s completion.

The guide, which took nearly a decade to create, makes one of the world’s greatest archival collections accessible for the first time. It also describes more than a thousand years of documentary records.

Silk appointed president of ARPD

Kenneth Silk, associate professor of psychiatry and associate chair, Department of Psychiatry, recently was elected president of the Association for Research in Personality Disorders (ARPD). As president, Silk is serving a two-year term, which began May 15.

Gilsdorf receives Prose Award

Janet Gilsdorf, professor of pediatrics and communicable diseases, received the Third Annual 1999 Journal of General Internal Medicine Writing Award for Creative Prose for her short story “Off to the Left.” Gilsdorf’s piece, chosen from more than 70 submissions, was published in the journal’s June issue.

Anthony’s book included in NEC series

NEC Answers, written by Michael Anthony, electrical engineer, Plant Operations, has been selected as the latest book in McGraw-Hill’s electrical construction series. The book establishes a new platform for implementing the 1999 National Electric Code (NEC) and was written for building managers and architects, and civil, mechanical, computer and telecommunications engineers who seek a broad understanding of the NEC. Anthony also is the author of Electric Power System Protection and Coordination.