The University Record, September 20, 1999


Steyer appointed to national advisory committee

Terrence Steyer, Robert Wood Johnson Clinical Scholar and lecturer in internal and family medicine, was recently chosen by Secretary of Health and Human Services (HHS) Donna Shalala to serve on the new Advisory Committee on Training in Primary Care Medicine and Dentistry. The committee is composed of 23 leaders in medical and dental education who will help shape HHS policy and programs. More than 75 individuals were nominated for the committee.

Allen-Meares appointed to Grant Foundation

Paula Allen-Meares, dean of the School of Social Work, was recently appointed to the Board of Trustees of the William T. Grant Foundation. Effective Oct. 13, Meares will serve on the foundation’s Program Committee.

The William T. Grant Foundation focuses on helping the nation value its youth through research and programs.

Greenleaf honors Housing Facilities

The Housing Facilities Department has received one of five 1999 Greenleaf Center Appreciation Awards. The awards are given to organizations that demonstrate service and dedication to the principals of leadership espoused by the Greenleaf Center for Servant-Leadership.

The Housing Facilities Department, which oversees more than four million square feet of floor space and housing for 16,000 campus residents, was recognized for its unique internal governance board, the Housing Facilities Department Council (HFDC). The HFDC is a network of overlapping, self-managed teams whose decisions are based on consensus.

The Greenleaf Award was presented to Jeff Schroeder, coordinator, Housing Management Systems; William Winkler, foreman, Housing Division, North Campus Area; and Vicky Heuter, manager, Housing Facilities Planning.

International Institute awarded $350,000 grant

The International Institute received a $350,000 grant for the second stage of the “Crossing Borders: Revitalizing Area Studies” initiative. The multi-year Ford Foundation program is intended to promote innovative thinking and practices in area studies, teaching and scholarship at both the undergraduate and graduate levels. During the first stage, the U-M was one of 30 U.S. universities chosen from more than 200 to receive a $50,000 grant.

With the new award, the International Institute will organize a series of activities focusing on the epistemological foundations of area studies. Faculty-graduate student seminars spanning the 2000-02 school years also will focus on this theme, culminating in a fall 2002 conference. The grant will support traveling graduate student workshops in Warsaw, Poland; Istanbul, Turkey; Cuzco, Peru; and Ann Arbor.

Project directors are: David W. Cohen,

professor of anthropology and of history; Michael D. Kennedy, associate professor of sociology, vice provost for international affairs and director of the International Institute; and Bruce Mannheim, associate professor of anthropology and director, Latin American and Caribbean Studies Program.

Kshirsagar receives Don Owen Award

Anant Kshirsagar, professor of biostatistics, received the 1999 Don Owen Award in Statistics. The award is given by the American Statistical Association and Marcel Dekker Inc. for excellence in teaching and in publications, as well as service to statistical journals.