Office of the Vice President for Global Communications

Friday, March 26, 2010

President Coleman, faculty and students inducted into Phi Kappa Phi

The U-M chapter of Phi Kappa Phi, the nation’s oldest, largest, and most selective all-discipline honor society, recently inducted President Mary Sue Coleman as its 2010 honorary member.

President Mary Sue Coleman listens as Provost Teresa Sullivan speaks during the induction ceremony for the U-M chapter of Phi Kappa Phi. (Photo by Mary Beth Donovan)

Provost Teresa Sullivan, the chapter’s treasurer, cited Coleman’s outstanding academic career in the sciences as well as her noteworthy administrative positions as clear qualifications for membership.

“We are privileged to have her as a member of our chapter,” said chapter President Norman Andresen.

The chapter conducted its 2010 Induction Ceremony and Reception on March 21 at Rackham Auditorium and Assembly Hall. Provost-Designate Philip Hanlon; David Munson, Robert J. Vlasic Dean of Engineering; and John Chamberlin, professor of public policy and political science, were inducted as faculty members, along with 275 new student members.

The chapter, which received 69 applications from 34 areas of the university this year, awarded nine scholarships to graduate students Mohammad Fallahi-Sichani, Michelle Kron and Shelley Strickland; seniors Kevin Callender and Ana Progovac; and juniors Sarah Reinhardt, Matthew Stier, He Yang, and Jacqueline Zillioux.

Phi Kappa Phi was founded in 1897. Its distinguishing characteristic is the belief that all branches of higher education merit recognition across the entire range of academic inquiry. Membership is by invitation only to the top 7.5 percent of juniors, and the top 10 percent of seniors and graduate students. Faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction also qualify. Since being founded in 1926, the U-M chapter has inducted more than 8,000 members.