Office of the Vice President for Global Communications

Tuesday, March 30, 2010

Sullivan appoints SPH dean advisory search committee

A search advisory committee has been selected for the next dean of the School of Public Health (SPH), Teresa Sullivan, provost and executive vice president for academic affairs, has announced.

“We look forward to the selection of a new dean who will continue the research, teaching and practice activities important to the future of the school,” Sullivan says.

Paula Lantz has agreed to chair the committee. She is the S.J. Axelrod Collegiate Professor of Health Management and Policy; professor and chair of the Department of Health Management and Policy, SPH; and a research professor at the Survey Research Center, Institute for Social Research.

Additional committee members are:

• Allison Aiello, the John G. Searle Assistant Professor of Epidemiology; and assistant professor of epidemiology, SPH.

• Frank Ascione, dean and professor of social and administrative sciences, College of Pharmacy.

• Michael Boehnke, the Richard G. Cornell Distinguished University Professor and professor of biostatistics, SPH.

• Cathleen Connell, professor of health behavior and health education, and associate director of the Center for Managing Chronic Diseases, SPH; and director of the Education Core of the Michigan Alzheimer’s Disease Research Center.

• Ricardo Guzman, CEO, Community Health and Social Services Center Inc.; member, Detroit Urban Research Center Board; and SPH alumnus.

• Dr. Joseph Kolars, professor of internal medicine and senior associate dean for education and global initiatives, Medical School.

• Phyllis Meadows, associate director of the Office of Public Health Practice, and clinical professor of health management and policy, SPH.

• Karen Peterson, professor of environmental health sciences and director of the Human Nutrition Program, SPH.

• Lori Rebhan, director of development and alumni relations, SPH.

• Melissa Smiley, doctoral student in the Department of Epidemiology and Center for Social Epidemiology and Population Health, SPH.

• Marita Titler, Rhetaugh Graves Dumas Professor of Nursing, professor of nursing and associate dean for practice and clinical scholarship development, School of Nursing.

• Gail Warden, professor of health management and policy, SPH; president and CEO emeritus of Henry Ford Health System; and former president of the American Hospital Association.

• Isabella Weber, student in the Masters of Public Health Program, SPH.

All members of the search advisory committee may be reached via e-mail at

Sullivan met with the committee members on March 17, requesting they conduct a search that would include nominations of both internal and external candidates. The committee will present an unranked slate of recommended candidates as early as possible in the fall term.

The current dean, Kenneth Warner, will step down on Dec. 31, to return to the faculty.

“Dean Warner has provided outstanding leadership for the school, both in terms of program development and fiscal management,” Sullivan says. “Notably, he took the initiative to develop the university’s new Center for Global Health. He has been a valued expert in our MHealthy efforts, especially to our smoke-free campus initiative.”