Office of the Vice President for Global Communications

Thursday, April 15, 2010

Faculty members win Guggenheim Fellowships
for research

Five current and one retired U-M professors are among 180 winners of the Guggenheim Fellowships, which are awarded annually for distinguished achievement in the past and exceptional promise for future accomplishment.

David Caron Holly Hughes
Shinobu Kitayama Elizabeth Sears
Tomoko Masuzawa Richard Tillinghast

The U-M fellows and their projects include:

• David Caron, professor of French and women’s studies, “Tact and HIV disclosure.”

• Holly Hughes, associate professor of art and design, theatre and drama, and women’s studies, "Let Them Eat Cake."

• Shinobu Kitayama, professor of psychology, “Cultural Neuroscience: Bridging Natural and Social Sciences.”

• Tomoko Masuzawa, professor of history and comparative literature; “A history of biblical studies and the 19th-century academy.”

• Elizabeth Sears, George H. Forsyth Jr. Collegiate Professor of History of Art, “Warburg Circles: towards a cultural-historical history of art, 1929-64.”

• Richard Tillinghast, a professor emeritus of English; Carrick-on-Suir, Ireland: poetry.

The 2010 Guggenheim Fellowship winners include artists, scholars, and scientists selected from more than3,000 applicants for awards totaling more than $7.1 million.

“We are proud that our faculty members have received this honor,” says Provost Teresa Sullivan. “This national recognition of faculty in fields including performance art, psychology and the humanities is a clear indication of the strength and diversity of the work undertaken at the university.”

Since 1925, the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation has granted more than $281 million in fellowships to more than 16,900 individuals in the United States and Canada.

The full list of 2010 fellows is available at