Office of the Vice President for Global Communications

Monday, January 9, 2012

Dates set for five Distinguished University Professor lectures

Five faculty members who have received one of the university's top honors will offer Distinguished University Professor lectures beginning Jan. 25, presenting topics that highlight their work at U-M.

In a tradition that began 10 years ago, recently appointed DUPs give an inaugural lecture, typically during the first or second full year of their appointments.

The lectures all will be presented at 4 p.m. in the Rackham Amphitheatre on the fourth floor of the Rackham Building. A reception follows each presentation in the Assembly Hall.

The University Record will present a preview of each lecture.

The presenters, and dates of their lectures, are:

• Terry Robinson (Jan. 25), named in 2011 as the Elliot S. Valenstein Distinguished University Professor of Psychology and Neuroscience. He also is professor of psychology, LSA.

• David E. Meyer (Feb. 1), named in 2010 as the Clyde H. Coombs and J.E. Keith Smith Distinguished University Professorship of Mathematical and Cognitive Psychology. In addition, he is a professor of psychology, LSA.

• Gordon Kane (March 6), named in 2011 as the Victor F. Weisskopf Distinguished University Professor of Physics. Further titles include professor of physics and director of the Center for Theoretical Physics, LSA; and professor of art, School of Art & Design.

• Yoram Koren (March 27), named in 2010 as the James J. Duderstadt Distinguished University Professorship of Manufacturing. He also is the Paul G. Goebel Professor of Mechanical Engineering, College of Engineering.

• Miriam Meisler (April 4), named in 2011 as the Myron Levine Distinguished University Professor of Human Genetics. In addition, she is a professor of human genetics, Medical School.

Distinguished University Professorships, established in 1947, recognize full or associate professors for exceptional scholarly and/or creative achievement, national and international reputation, and superior teaching skills. Each professorship bears a name determined by the appointive professor in consultation with her or his dean.

Recipients get an annual salary supplement of $5,000 and an annual research supplement of $5,000.