Office of the Vice President for Global Communications

Wednesday, April 11, 2012

Phi Kappa Phi inducts seven faculty and staff members

The U-M Chapter of Phi Kappa Phi, the nation's oldest, largest, and most selective all-discipline honor society, has inducted seven faculty and professional staff as new members.

  Dr. Margaret Gyetko, senior associate dean for faculty and faculty development at the Medical School, delivers the keynote address to new members of Phi Kappa Phi. (Photo by Mary Beth Donovan)

Inducted April 1 were Associate Deans Margaret Gyetko, Joseph Kolars and Rajesh Mangrulkar from the Medical School; Associate Dean Annemarie Palincsar and Assistant Dean Henry Meares from the School of Education; Brandon Baier, a web designer and administrator in the Department of Biomedical Engineering; and Alena Stocking, director of strategic initiatives in the Health System Development Office.

The chapter also inducted 250 new junior, senior, and graduate/professional student members. Since its founding in 1926, the U-M chapter has inducted more than 8,000 members.

Senior Vice Provost Lester Monts, the chapter's treasurer, opened the ceremony by welcoming the new members to "an honor society that has withstood the test of time."

"Since the late 19th century, Phi Kappa Phi continues to evolve, with new chapters being added annually, and with a stellar cast of members who have taken on responsibilities in all realms of leaderships throughout the world," he said. "It is a very special honor to be inducted into the PKP. You should feel honored and gratified for all that you have accomplished."

Monts also focused on the importance of service.

"With honor comes responsibility and service," he said. "Taking on a leadership role can be a very gratifying experience for you. Learning about the inner workings of a national organization, providing your expertise on key issues, and working alongside people you would not ordinarily get to know, can become one of the most treasured sets of experiences you will have here. That is what we call the Michigan Difference."

In her keynote address, "The Future of Health Care in the United States," Gyetko, the Medical School's senior associate dean for faculty and faculty development, said, "Physicians are working to build complex networks of health care providers to depress the overall cost of health care and to provide accountable health care that is both cost-efficient and high quality. You can be proud that the University of Michigan is a leader in these efforts."

She then told attendees that, "You are all the future of health care in the United States. It is through your leadership in shaping health care policy at the state level and at the national level, and in your professional organizations that you can create the future of health care in the United States. You have already been recognized as the best. Go on to be the leaders and the best."

The chapter also awarded scholarships to three students: $3,000 to graduate student Michael Bohl; $2,500 to senior Connie Shi; and $2,000 to junior Lily Zhang.

Founded in 1897 at the University of Maine, the distinguishing characteristic of Phi Kappa Phi is its belief that all branches of higher education merit recognition across the entire range of academic inquiry. Membership is by invitation only to the top 7.5 percent of juniors, and the top 10 percent of seniors, and graduate students. Faculty, professional staff, and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction also qualify. For more information, go to