The University of MichiganNews & Information services
The University Record Online
search Updated 5:00 PM January 20, 2003



news briefs


UM employment

police beat
regents round-up
research reporter


Advertise with Record

contact us

contact us

Rosina Bierbaum, dean of the School of Natural Resources and Environment, has been named a member of the Board of the Federation of American Scientists.
James Burnstein, an adjunct professor in the LSA Program in Film and Video, was appointed Dec. 13 by then-Gov. John Engler to the Michigan Film Advisory Commission. The commission promotes the state’s film, television and video production industries.
Sioban Harlow, associate professor of epidemiology and associate director, International Institute, has been appointed to the National Academies Science, Technology and Law Program Committee on the Use of Third-Party Toxicity Research for Human Research Participants.
Carol Loveland-Cherry, executive associate dean of the School of Nursing, has been appointed for a three-year term to the U.S. Preventative Services Task Force.
Bob Grese, associate professor in the School of Natural Resources and Environment and director of the Nichols Arboretum, is the inaugural recipient of the award bearing his name, the Bob Grese “Deep Roots Award.” Grese was honored by the Ann Arbor chapter of the Wild Ones Natural Landscapers for his service as the organization’s first president.
Victor Katch, professor of kinesiology and associate professor of pediatrics, recently was honored for the book “Exercise Physiology,” which he co-authored. The book was a winner in the British Medical Association (BMA) medical book competition. According to BMA, the honor marks the first time in medicine that a book in sports medicine, exercise physiology and kinesiology has received an award from the organization.
Xihong Lin, professor of biostatistics, will begin a three-year term in January as editor of the international journal Biometrics. Lin also is the recipient of a pair of 2002 awards: the American Statistical Association’s Noether Young Scholar Award and the American Public Health Association’s Mortimer Spiegelman Award.
Mary Waite and Laura Rayner, interior designers in the Housing Facilities Department, recently received a design award from the Association of University Interior Designers at the organization’s 2002 national conference in Ithaca, N.Y. Waite and Raynor took first place in the renovation $50,000–$150,000 category for the South Quad lobbies project.

Richard Tillinghast, professor of English language and literature, has been named a recipient of a 2003 Creative Artists Grant by ArtServe Michigan. One of 25 Michigan artists to receive the award, Tillinghast was honored for his work in literature and is one of four winners from Washtenaw County.
Jie Zhang, assistant professor of business administration, and Michel Wedel, visiting professor of business administration, recently were awarded a research grant by the Marketing Science Institute for their project “Examining Promotional Effectiveness and Its Financial Implications in Online and Brick-and-Mortar Stores.”


More stories