The University of MichiganNews & Information services
The University Record Online
Updated 1:00 PM June 30, 2003



news briefs


UM employment

police beat
regents round-up
research reporter


Advertise with Record

contact us
contact us
Task force to look at purchasing practices

The University has commissioned a Purchasing Ethics and Policies Task Force to make recommendations about the institution's policies on ethical and social responsibility as they pertain to purchasing practices. The committee, which will be chaired by Law School Professor Emeritus Theodore St. Antoine, will hold a public forum next month during which the campus and the public are invited to offer thoughts on the issue.
"The University of Michigan has a longstanding commitment to sound, ethical and socially responsible practices." —President Mary Sue Coleman

"The University of Michigan has a longstanding commitment to sound, ethical and socially responsible practices," said President Mary Sue Coleman when making her charge to the task force. "To ensure that such practices are codified for the University's vendors, I am appointing a task force to report back to me no later than the end of fall term 2003."

The task force has been instructed to review the University's existing purchasing policies, compile and study relevant purchasing policies at other educational and governmental institutions, and develop recommendations for policy language that aligns the University's practices with its core values and principles. The task force also will consider federal and state regulations and enforcement processes in its recommendations about the role the University should play.

The pubic forum is 4-6 p.m. July 10 in the Kuenzel Room of the Michigan Union. Those wishing to speak are invited to sign up in advance by contacting Patrick Naswell, or (734) 615-6744. The task force also will take comments from the floor.

Another forum will be scheduled in the fall.

Purchasing Task Force members:
Jenny Lee, student, undergraduate LSA
Dr. James Levinsohn, professor of economics and public policy
James Kosteva, director of community relations
Michael Medow, student, undergraduate LSA
Dennis Poszywak, assistant director of purchasing
Theodore St. Antoine, professor emeritus, Law School
Valerie Suslow, associate professor, School of Business Administration
Patrick Naswell, assistant to the chief of staff, Office of the President
Nancianna Girbach, secretary IV, Office of the President

More stories