The University of MichiganNews & Information services
The University Record Online
Updated 1:00 PM June 30, 2003



news briefs


UM employment

police beat
regents round-up
research reporter


Advertise with Record

contact us
contact us

Inglenook Vineyards has selected Dr. Shengping Li, a research fellow in hematology/oncology, as an Inglenook Scholar-in-Training Award recipient for 2003. The award will cover travel expenses for Li and 21 other early-career scientists to the annual meeting of the American Association for Cancer Research July 11-15 in Washington, D.C. At the meeting, Li will present her paper, "A Murine Model of Adoptive Immunotherapy of Metastatic Breast Cancer with Genetically Engineered T Cells Expressing a HER2-specific Chimeric T Cell Receptor."


George Kaplan, professor of epidemiology and director of the Center for Social Epidemiology and Population Health, is president of the Society for Epidemiologic Research (SER) for 2003-04. SER was established in 1968 as a forum for sharing the latest in epidemiologic research.

David Allan, professor of natural resources and environment, recently was selected as a senior scholar for the David H. Smith Conservation Research Program. As a Smith fellow, Allan will work to improve the identification of threats to river ecosystems resulting from human alterations to surrounding landscapes.



Dr. Kenneth Pienta, professor of internal medicine and urology, has been awarded an American Cancer Society (ACS) Clinical Research Professorship. One of two awarded nationally for 2003, the ACS's most prestigious research award is given to outstanding cancer researchers who are contributing significantly to a particular discipline within a field of cancer research. The five-year, $400,000 grant allows professors to concentrate on their specific area of scientific investigation by relieving them of major administrative and/or teaching responsibilities.




Department of Public Safety officers Akin Bryant and David Hawkins graduated from the Washtenaw Community College Police Academy June 13. At the ceremony, Bryant received the Michigan Commission on Law Enforcement Standards Outstanding Recruit award. He was chosen by classmates and academy instructors based on high scholastic achievement and the highest levels of teamwork, communication and leadership. Bryant also received the Most Improved Physical Fitness award. Hawkins was elected Sergeant of Arms by classmates and was a nominee for the outstanding recruit award.

The Arts of Citizenship Program recently announced the recipients of its fifth round of faculty and graduate student grants for public and community-based scholarly work in the arts, humanities and design. The goal of the grants program is to foster research, teaching and creative projects that contribute to public culture and encourage innovative teaching and research in collaboration with community partners. An interdisciplinary faculty selection committee awarded grants to the following recipients for their individual or team projects:

• Kristine Freeark, research investigator, Center for Human Growth and Development

• Larry Gant, associate professor of social work, Barry Checkoway, professor of social work and urban planning, and Lorraine Gutierrez, professor of psychology and social work

• Emily Lawsin, lecturer in American culture and women's studies

• Dennis Miller, associate professor of graphic design

• Richard Tillinghast, professor of English

• Jason Peter Braidwood, architecture and urban planning, and business graduate student

• Dolores Ines Casillas, Program in American Culture graduate student

• Paul Coseo, Christopher Cox, Jen-Jia Huang, Jessica Kenzie and Joanna Paine, natural resources and environment graduate students

• Erica Lehrer, anthropology graduate student

• Ethan Solomon and Benjamin Smith, architecture and urban planning graduate students.

More stories