The University of MichiganNews & Information services
The University Record“onine
search Updated: 10:15 a.m. EDT -- 01 October 2002  


news briefs


UM employment

police beat
regents round-up
research reporter


Advertise with Record

contact us

contact us
Distinguished University Professor
Lawrence Sklar

Lawrence Sklar, one of the world’s leading philosophers of science, has made fundamental contributions to the philosophy of physics, particularly space-time and statistical physics. His insightful papers and reviews in those fields, as well as metaphysics, epistemology and the philosophy of language, are considered classics.

Sklar’s book “Space, Time, and Spacetime” (University of California Press 1974) won the American Philosophical Association’s Franklin J. Matchette Prize. His introductory book “Philosophy of Physics” (Oxford University Press 1992) has made it possible for a wider audience to engage in serious study of the field. Another of Sklar’s books, “Physics and Chance: Philosophical Issues in the Foundations of Statistical Mechanics” (Cambridge University Press 1993), received the Imrè Lakatos Award for distinction and was acclaimed by Choice magazine as “one of the most important books in the philosophy of science in the last 50 years.”

A member of the Department of Philosophy faculty since 1968, Sklar also is an excellent teacher. He combines a dynamic style with the lucidity and gift for exposition evident in his writing. Many of his graduate students have gone on to achieve distinguished careers.

Sklar has served on the governing board of the Philosophy of Science Association and the Executive Committee of the American Philosophical Association, on the editorial boards of Philosophy of Science, Studies in History and Philosophy of Modern Physics, Philosophical Essays, and Philosophy and Phenomenological Research, and as president of the American Philosophical Association’s Central Division.

In 1998, he presented the John Locke Lectures at Oxford University, one of the most prestigious lecture series in philosophy. He is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and has received numerous research grants from the National Science Foundation, as well as awards from the American Council of Learned Societies, the National Endowment for the Humanities, and the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation.

Michael A. Savageau
Lawrence Sklar
Kensell D. Wise
Robert E. Lewis
Don B. Clewell
Andrew F. Nagy
Jeffrey R. Parsons
Julia Adams
Richard D. Woods
Fred C. Adams
Photios G. Ioannou


More stories:


Front Page | Accolades | News Briefs | Events | UM-Employment
Archives | Obituaries | Police beat | Regents Round-up | Research Reporter | Letters | Contact Webmaster

Copyright © 2002 The Regents of the University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI 48109 USA 1-734-764-1817