The University of MichiganNews Services
The University Record Online
Updated 2:00 PM February 11, 2005




view events

submit events

UM employment

police beat
regents round-up
research reporter


Advertise with Record

contact us
meet the staff
contact us
contact us
Regents roundup

Editor's note: The following actions were taken by the Board of Regents at its January meeting.

Pharmacy lab to be renovated

Students in the College of Pharmacy will have access next fall to a new teaching laboratory that will accommodate up to 80 students at individual workstations. Existing lab space on the first floor of the C.C. Little Building will be renovated this summer into a new open floor plan. Integrated Design Solution will design the project, which is estimated to cost $800,000. Funding for the project will be provided from the college, Office of the Provost and private gifts.

Ann Street Parking Structure proceeds

The regents authorized issuing the Ann Street Parking Structure project for bids and awarding construction contracts. The 530-space parking structure that will be located north of the new Biomedical Science Research Building originally was approved at the September meeting. The structure is scheduled to open next winter.

Faculty appointmentswith tenure

Mark Newman, associate professor of physics, LSA, effective Jan. 1, 2005.

Administrative appointments

Matthew Biro, acting chair, Department of the History of Art, LSA, effective Jan. 1-May 31, 2005.

Carol Fierke, chair, Department of Chemistry, LSA, effective Jan. 1, 2005-June 30, 2010.

Dr. Maya Hammoud, assistant dean for student programs, Medical School, effective Jan. 20, 2005.

Named professorships

Deborah Loewenberg Ball, William H. Payne Collegiate Professor of Education, School of Education, effective Jan. 1, 2005-Dec. 31, 2009.

Dr. Kyung Cho, re-appointed William Martel Collegiate Professor of Radiology, Medical School, effective April 1, 2004-Aug. 31, 2009.

Dr. Lisa Colletti, C. Gardner Child Professor of Surgery, Medical School, effective Feb. 1, 2005-Aug. 31, 2010.

Paul Hollenberg, re-appointed Maurice H. Seevers Collegiate Professor of Pharmacology, Medical School, effective July 1, 2004-Aug. 31, 2009.

Dr. Timothy Johnson, re-appointed William B. Taylor Collegiate Professor of Dermatology, Medical School, effective Nov. 1, 2004-Aug. 31, 2009.

Dino Kritsiotis, L. Bates Lea Visiting Professor of Law, Law School, effective Feb. 1-April 30, 2005.

David Neuhoff, Joseph E. and Anne P. Rowe Professor of Electrical Engineering, College of Engineering, effective Jan. 1, 2005-Dec. 31, 2009.

Tresa Pollock, L. H. and F. E. Van Vlack Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, College of Engineering, effective Jan. 1, 2005-Dec. 31, 2009.

Dr. R. Kevin Reynolds, George W. Morley Collegiate Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Medical School, effective Jan. 1, 2005-Aug. 31, 2010.

Edward St. John, Algo D. Henderson Collegiate Professor of Education, School of Education, effective Jan. 1, 2005-Dec. 31, 2009.

Patricia S. Yaeger, Henry Simmons Frieze Collegiate Professor, LSA, effective Jan. 1, 2005-Dec. 31, 2009.


Roy Glover, associate professor of cell and developmental biology in the Medical School, effective June 30, 2004. Glover joined the University in 1968. He was very involved in discovering innovative methods and educational uses for plastination research. He was a member of the Senate Assembly and served on and chaired many school and departmental committees.

Dr. Stevo Julius, Frederick G. L. Huetwell Professor of Hypertension, professor of internal medicine and professor of molecular and integrative physiology in the Medical School, effective Jan. 14, 2005. He joined U-M in 1965. His research led to the concept of the hyperkinetic borderline hypertensive state. In recent years, he has focused on international clinic trials, including one that could lead to the development of an entirely novel approach to hypertension prevention.

B. Joseph White, Wilbur K. Pierpont Collegiate Professor of Leadership in Management Education, professor of business administration and former dean of the Stephen M. Ross School of Business, effective Jan. 31, 2005. White joined U-M in 1973. He served as interim president of U-M in 2002. Under his leadership, the business school conducted curricular revision and innovation that catapulted the school into the top tier of business schools.

More Stories