The University of MichiganNews Services
The University Record Online
Updated 12:00 PM June 23, 2005




view events

submit events

UM employment

police beat
regents round-up
research reporter


Advertise with Record

contact us
meet the staff
contact us
contact us

LSA awards scholarships to incoming students

LSA has announced scholarship recipients in two of its award programs. Four freshmen will receive the Alvin M. and Arvella D. Bentley Scholarship; six first-year students will receive a Sidney J. and Irene Shipman Scholarship, and nine an LSA Scholarship.

Alvin M. and Arvella D. Bentley Scholarship

The Bentley Scholarship is LSA's most prestigious prize, awarded to in-state students with demonstrated exceptional scholastic and civic achievement.

Bentley scholarships are awarded during the course of four years to help cover undergraduate tuition, fees, and room and board. All Bentley scholars and semifinalists also become members of the Bentley Society. Membership includes first choice of residence hall; automatic admission to the Honors Program, Residential College or any other Michigan Learning Community; and a $1,000 study abroad scholarship from the Office of International Programs (OIP).

The four 2005 Bentley scholars who will enroll at U-M this fall are: Garber High School graduate Adam Dearing of Essexville; University of Detroit Jesuit High School graduate Szymon Kietlinski of Grosse Pointe; Henry Ford II High School graduate Jeneanne Orlowski of Sterling Heights; and Grosse Pointe South High School graduate Leigh Wedenoja of Grosse Pointe Park.

Three other semifinalists received LSA Scholarships: Lahser High School graduate Jonathan Fleischmann of Bloomfield Hills; Huron High School graduate Choi Li of Ann Arbor; and Tecumseh High School graduate Jose Antonio Mejia of Tecumseh.

Alvin M. Bentley III, a member of the Board of Regents from 1966 until his death in 1969, graduated from U-M in 1940 and spent most of his life in public service supporting civil rights and improvements in higher education. He devoted the early part of his career to the U.S. diplomatic corps as a foreign service officer in Mexico, Colombia and Hungary from 1941-50 before serving four terms in Congress as an 8th District representative. The Bentley Historical Library at U-M was completed in 1972 with a gift from the Bentley family.

Sidney J. and Irene Shipman Scholarship

The Sidney J. and Irene Shipman Scholarship has been awarded to U-M students since 1996.

Funded through a bequest from the estate of Dr. Sidney J. Shipman and Irene Shipman, the scholarship covers the cost of room and board for both resident and non-resident recipients who choose to live in residence halls. Shipman scholars also receive the benefits of Shipman Society membership, which include first choice of U-M residence hall; membership in the Shipman Society student organization; priority admission to special academic programs; and a $1,000 study abroad scholarship from OIP.

Because several U-M schools and colleges participate in the Shipman Scholarship program, award amounts vary each year. LSA awards additional funds to the recipients of the Shipman Scholarship and to semifinalists.

The 2005 Shipman Scholars are: Kenneth Lao Chen of Gilbert, Ariz.; Sarah Evelyn Duffy of Chicago; Emily Jade Foley of Boston; Steven Eric Gornstein of Washington, D.C.; Katherine Ann Rice of Coralville, Iowa; and Yevgeny Shrago of Rochester, N.Y.

Semifinalists are Thomas Samuel Bander of Grand Rapids, Mich.; Hannah Rose Sheehy of Cincinnati, Ohio; and Margaret Rose Wagner of Troy, Mich. Each will receive an LSA Scholarship and a Shipman Society award.

Sidney J. Shipman graduated from U-M with a bachelor of arts degree in 1917 and a medical degree in 1919. After interning in New York and California, he began practicing medicine in San Francisco in 1923 as a specialist in thoracic medicine and surgery. Shipman served as professor of medicine at the University of California, president of the National Tuberculosis Association, and as president of the California Medical Association.

Upon the death of his wife, Irene, in 1994, funds were given to U-M to establish the Shipman Scholarship.

More Stories