The University of MichiganNews Services
The University Record Online
Updated 10:00 AM April 10, 2006




view events

submit events

UM employment

police beat
regents round-up
research reporter


Advertise with Record

contact us
meet the staff
contact us
contact us


Cindy Brown from the Pediatric Liver Transplant Program has been named the U-M Health System Department of Social Work 2006 Social Worker of the Year.

Dr. Srinivas Chiravuri, a lecturer in pain medicine and director of the Implant Program for the Center for Interventional Pain Medicine in the Department of Anesthesiology, has been honored with the U-M Health System Shining Star Award for significant contributions to the mission, vision and goals of the institution.

The American College of Cardiovascular Administrators at its annual conference March 8 in Atlanta awarded the GE Healthcare Award of Excellence to Linda Larin, administrative director of the Cardiovascular Center. Larin was honored for being instrumental in developing the first true cardiovascular collaborative service line at U-M and for forging relationships that cross departmental boundaries, ultimately culminating in the construction of a cardiovascular center focused on a team approach.

Dr. Maria Silveira, assistant professor in the Department of Internal Medicine, recently received the American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine Award for Young Investigators for her research entitled, "Caring for the Dying in Primary Care," a focus group study of primary care providers and their nursing staff.

Mark Taylor and Peethambaran Ammanath, both from the Orthotics and Prosthetics Center, were two of only 13 people inducted into the American Academy of Orthotists and Prosthetists 2006 Class of Fellows. Each received the Fellow of the Academy designation for dedication to maintaining high-quality patient care through a personal commitment toward continuing education.

The U-M-Dearborn Commission for Women has selected Maureen Linker, associate professor of philosophy and director of the Women's and Gender Studies Program, as recipient of the 28th annual Susan B. Anthony Award. The award recognizes a member of the campus community who has made significant contributions to gender equality.


Richard Laine, professor of materials science and engineering, and of macromolecular science and engineering, and director of the Academic Program in the College of Engineering, has been appointed director of the Macromolecular Science and Engineering Center.

More Stories