The University of MichiganNews Services
The University Record Online
Updated 3:00 PM May 2, 2006




view events

submit events

UM employment

police beat
regents round-up
research reporter


Advertise with Record

contact us
meet the staff
contact us
contact us


Richard Rabeler, Research Museum collections manager and assistant research scientist at the Herbarium, is president-elect of the Society for the Preservation of Natural History Collections—an international association of persons who study and care for natural history collections.


James Diana, associate dean at the School of Natural Resources and Environment, received the Justin W. Leonard Award of Excellence from the Michigan Chapter of the American Fisheries Society for his contributions to fisheries education, research and management in Michigan. The award, named in honor of Leonard, a professor of natural resources and zoology at U-M from 1964-75, recognizes outstanding competence and achievement of a professional employed in the field of fisheries or aquatic biology in the state of Michigan.


Kathleen Wade, assistant dean of hospital social work services in the School of Social Work, is the recipient of the 2006 Social Work Leader of the Year Award from the Society of Social Work Leadership in Health Care (SSWLHC). Wade was honored for exhibiting strong, active participation in her work, profession and SSWLHC, as well as demonstrated excellence in solutions of complex psychosocial situations as she directs the UMHS Department of Social Work.

Judy Olson, the Richard W. Pew Collegiate Professor of Human Computer Interaction in the School of Information (SI), and Gary Olson, the Paul M. Fitts Collegiate Professor of Human Computer Interaction and SI associate dean for research, received the 2006 Computer Human Interaction (CHI) Lifetime Achievement Award from the Association for Computing Machinery's CHI section at the annual CHI conference April 22-27 in Montreal. The award recognizes a lifetime of innovation and leadership and carries an honorarium of $5,000. Criteria for the award are cumulative contributions to the field, influencing the work of others, and developing new research directions.


More Stories