The University of MichiganNews Services
The University Record Online
Updated 10:00 AM February 13, 2006




view events

submit events

UM employment

police beat
regents round-up
research reporter


Advertise with Record

contact us
meet the staff
contact us
contact us


Dennis Bernstein, professor of aerospace engineering, has been awarded an honorary doctor of engineering degree from the University of Glasgow, UK.

Drew Tinnin, coordinator of Orientation and Welcome to Michigan programs, received the 2005 National Orientation Directors Association Outstanding Orientation Professional Award last month at the group's annual conference in Miami.

Seven College of Engineering faculty members have been elected fellows in several organizations: Werner Dahm, professor of aerospace engineering, and James Driscoll, professor of aerospace engineering, American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics; Jeffrey Fessler, electrical engineering and computer science (EECS) professor and professor of biomedical engineering and nuclear medicine/radiology, Ronald Gilgenbach, professor of nuclear engineering and radiological sciences, and Amir Mortazawi, EECS associate professor, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers; Dale Karr, associate professor of naval architecture and marine engineering, Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers; and Michael Wellman, EECS professor, Association for Computing Machinery.

Larry Seiford, professor and chair of the Department of Industrial and Operations Engineering, has been elected a fellow of the American Society for Quality. He was honored for outstanding leadership in the field of benchmarking with significant contributions to the development and use of the methodology of data envelopment analysis for performance improvement and best practices identification; and for numerous contributions as a university educator in advancing the quality of the engineering profession through teaching, research, mentoring and curriculum improvements.

More Stories