The University of MichiganNews Services
The University Record Online
Updated 10:00 AM December 4, 2006




view events

submit events

UM employment

police beat
regents round-up
research reporter


Advertise with Record

contact us
meet the staff
contact us
contact us

Eight from U-M elected to AAAS

Eight U-M scientists have been elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

They are among 449 new fellows being singled out for scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. Election as a fellow is an honor bestowed upon association members by their peers.

The new fellows from Michigan and the reason for their election are:

David Ballou, professor of biological chemistry, for developing and applying stopped-flow techniques for rapid kinetic studies on flavin and metal-containing enzymes, revealing intermediates crucial to understanding biological oxidation reaction mechanisms;

Carol Fierke, Jerome and Isabella Karle Collegiate Professor of Chemistry and chair of the Chemistry Department, for distinguished contributions to bio-inorganic chemistry, particularly the mechanisms of zinc metalloenzymes and the ribozyme ribonuclease P, and the development and use of biosensors;

Nancy Songer, professor of education, for pioneering work in transforming technologies used by expert scientists into resources for precollege students. Colleagues say her Kids as Global Scientists and BioKids ( programs have improved science learning for students around the world;

Fawaz Ulaby, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor and R. Jamison and Betty Williams Professor of Engineering, for his outstanding contributions to microwave remote sensing, electromagnetic scattering and for his leadership in engineering education;

Samuel Mukasa, professor of geological sciences, for distinguished contributions in understanding the origin and evolution of Earth's crust through integrated measurements of multiple elemental and isotopic tracers of rock-forming processes;

Bernardus Van Der Pluijm, director of the global change program and professor of geology and the environment, for innovative contributions to our understanding of ancient orogenic zones, the nature of faulting and the use of microstructures to elucidate large-scale phenomena;

Lars Stixrude (no photo provided), professor of geological sciences, for outstanding contributions to the theoretical study of materials in the earth's mantle and core; and

Randal Kaufman (no photo provided), Warner-Lambert/Parke-Davis Professor of Medicine, professor of biological chemistry and internal medicine, for distinguished contributions to the biological and medical sciences, particularly the understanding of protein-folding in the endoplasmic reticulum and the production of recombinant protein therapeutics.

The tradition of AAAS Fellows began in 1874. Members can be considered for the rank of fellow if nominated by the steering groups of the association's 24 sections, or by any three fellows who are current AAAS members.
Ballou (Photo by Swearingen Photography)
Fierke (Courtesy Carol Fierke)
Songer (Photo by Lin Jones, Photo Services)
Ulaby (File photo by Paul Jaronski, U-M Photo Services) Mukasa (Photo by Scott Galvin, U-M Photo Services) Van Der Pluijm (Courtesy Bernadus Van Der Pluijm)


More Stories