The University of MichiganNews Services
The University Record Online
Updated 11:00 AM July 16, 2007




view events

submit events

UM employment

police beat
regents round-up
research reporter


Advertise with Record

contact us
meet the staff
contact us
contact us



Todd Austin, associate professor of computer science and engineering in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science was presented with the 2007 Maurice Wilkes Award at the 2007 International Symposium on Computer Architecture Awards Banquet for innovative contributions in computer architecture including the SimpleScalar Toolkit and the DIVA and Razor architectures. The Maurice Wilkes Award is the top mid-career award presented by the Association for Computing Machinery.

Craig Luck, administrative manager healthcare, U-M Hospital Support Services Administration, recently was presented the Ordinary People Accomplishing the Extraordinary Award by the Diversity Advisory Team because of his involvement with the Council for Disability Concerns, Investing In Abilities, Diversity Network Team and Diversity Awareness sub-group. The team found that Luck has the vision to achieve and sustain an environment that recognizes, respects, fosters and fully maximizes the strengths and differences among employees to be the employer and provider of choice.

Anna Ercoli Schnitzer, InfoPoint librarian, Health Sciences Libraries, and chair of the James T. Neubacher Award committee recently was presented with the 2007 Library Diversity Award for her work on the Council for Disability Concerns and also on the U- M Health System Diversity Awareness Committee. For about 10 years, the committee has fostered diversity efforts that collectively create a climate where all library personnel and users feel welcomed, valued and respected.

Gerald Hoff, insurance verification representative, U-M Hospital Registration and Insurance Verification, recently was presented the Laurita Thomas Diversity Champion Award which recognizes individuals, groups and departments for their contribution to creating and promoting an inclusive environment for all. The award is the first step in a recognition program developed by the Diversity Advisory Team subgroup the Learning and Growth Subcommittee. Its goal is to develop a program that will formally recognize and reward individuals who demonstrate the key qualities for creating and sustaining a diverse work environment.

Dr. Edward Walton, assistant professor of emergency medicine and pediatrics in the Medical School, has been named by the Michigan College of Emergency Physicians as Emergency Physician of the Year. The award will be presented July 17 at the Grand Hotel on Mackinac Island. Walton was cited for his academic focus on health care at summer camps.

Dr. David Schottenfeld, professor emeritus in epidemiology at the School of Public Health, has been selected by the epidemiology section of the American Public Health Association to receive the John Snow Award for 2007. This is the highest honor bestowed by the group, recognizing excellence in epidemiologic practice or research. He will receive the award at the APHA annual meeting in November.


Dr. Susan Goold, associate professor of internal medicine in the Medical School, has been named by the American Medical Association House of Delegates to the AMA Council on Ethical and Judicial Affairs. This panel oversees medical ethics issues for American physicians and others.

More Stories