The University of MichiganNews Services
The University Record Online
Updated 2:00 PM November 8, 2006




view events

submit events

UM employment

police beat
regents round-up
research reporter


Advertise with Record

contact us
meet the staff
contact us
contact us


Diane Nixon, manager of the U-M School of Dentistry's Clinic Billing Office, has been elected to a one-year term as national secretary-treasurer of the American Business Women's Association (ABWA). A member 21 years, Nixon was elected to a one-year term as District V regional vice president of the group last December.

James Walsh, the Gerald and Esther Carey Professor of Business Administration at the Stephen M. Ross School of Business, has been elected the 65th president of the Academy of Management (AOM), the oldest and largest scholarly management association in the world, with 17,000 members in 97 countries. Walsh, a member of the AOM's executive committee, begins his term as president in 2009.


Nguyen Xuan Vinh, professor emeritus of aerospace engineering, has been chosen to receive the American Astronautical Society 2006 Dirk Brouwer Award for his contributions to space flight mechanics. His research has influenced the fields of theoretical optimal control, celestial mechanics, astrodynamics, guidance and navigation and atmospheric flight mechanics among others.

Yoram Koren, professor of engineering and director of the National Science Foundation Engineering Research Center for Reconfigurable Manufacturing Systems, is scheduled to receive the M. Eugene Merchant Manufacturing Medal from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers during the organization's 2006 International Mechanical Engineering Congress and Exposition Nov. 5-10 in Chicago. Koren is being recognized for outstanding contributions to the science, education and practice of manufacturing through innovations in several areas and for establishing reconfigurable manufacturing as a worldwide scientific discipline.

Michael Foran, professor of accounting and finance at U-M-Dearborn, has been named the 2006 Accounting Educator of the Year by the Michigan Association of Certified Public Accountants (MACPA). Foran was chosen for the award for excellence in teaching accounting and his contributions to the CPA profession.

Michael Thomas, director of the Partners Plus program at U-M-Dearborn and Henry Ford Community College, was one of eight people to be named a 2006 Everyday Hero by the Recognize Achievement and Reward Excellence Foundation. The honor recognizes significant contributions by serving as a positive role model inspiring others. Thomas will receive a $1,000 honorarium, a crystal trophy, recognition at the foundation's annual Night of Heroes dinner and will have his story documented in a character education program for youth.


More Stories