The University of MichiganNews Services
The University Record Online
Updated 1:30 PM April 26, 2008




view events

submit events

UM employment

police beat
regents round-up
research reporter


Advertise with Record

contact us
meet the staff
contact us
contact us

Photo: Beethoven Sonata Project April 22 at Rackham

The University Musical Society season closes with the second two-concert installment of András Schiff's Beethoven Sonata Project at 8 p.m. April 22 at Rackham Auditorium. Beethoven's 32 sonatas were written between 1795 and 1822. The series of performances offers an overview of Beethoven's stylistic development as he progressed through his early, middle and late periods, marked in part by the composer's increasing deafness. Twenty of the sonatas were written during his early period when he still had full hearing, seven during his middle period and five during his late period. This season's four concerts feature works from Beethoven's early period. Schiff returns for four concerts next season to complete the cycle. For ticket information go to or call 764-2538. (Photo by Sheila Rock)

More Stories