The University of MichiganNews Services
The University Record Online
Updated 10:00 AM October 31, 2007




view events

submit events

UM employment

police beat
regents round-up
research reporter


Advertise with Record

contact us
meet the staff
contact us
contact us

Engelke Glick Kennedy King Mazumder
McCauley Nori Polverini Fischer Woodard
Ten from University chosen as AAAS Fellows

Ten U-M researchers have been elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

They are among 471 scientists and engineers being awarded the distinction this year for their efforts to advance scientific applications that are considered scientifically or socially distinguished. The fellows, who were chosen by their peers, will be honored Feb. 16 at a forum during the 2008 AAAS annual meeting in Boston.

The U-M fellows and the reasons for their election are:

• David Engelke, professor of biological chemistry, for contributions to understanding the synthesis and processing of small RNAs and how these processes are spatially coordinated in nuclei;

• Gary Glick, Werner E. Bachmann Collegiate Professor of Chemistry and professor of biological chemistry, for scholarship in the field of organic chemistry, particularly the development of molecular targets, mechanisms and compounds useful for the treatment of autoimmune diseases;

• Robert T. Kennedy, Hobart H. Willard Collegiate Professor of Chemistry and professor of pharmacology, for contributions to analytical chemistry, including development of techniques for ultra-sensitive analysis and their application to neuroscience and diabetes research;

• John L. King, vice provost for academic information and professor of information, for contributions in academic administration, professional leadership and public policy impact through information technology research applied to societal problems;

• Pinaki Mazumder, professor of electrical engineering and computer science, for contributions to the field of very large-scale integrated systems;

• Laurie McCauley, William K. and Mary Anne Najjar Professor of Periodontics and professor of pathology, for contributions to the field of skeletal physiology, particularly for delineating mechanisms of parathyroid hormone action during bone regeneration and pathophysiology of skeletal metastases;

• Franco Nori, professor of physics, for theoretical contributions in condensed matter physics, particularly for studies of vortex dynamics in superconductors, quantum information, dynamical instabilities, Josephson-junction arrays and quantum interference;

• Peter Polverini, dean and professor of dentistry and professor of pathology, for contributions to the field of vascular biology and the role of angiogenesis in tumorigenesis, and for efforts to incorporate science into dental education;

• Janet L. Smith, Margaret J. Hunter Collegiate Professor in the Life Sciences and professor of biological chemistry, for contributions to the field of structural biology, both for the development of methodology and for leadership in the establishment of facilities for crystallography; and

• Ronald Woodard, professor of medicinal chemistry and professor of chemistry, for contributions to the field of enzyme chemistry, particularly in the area of carbohydrate biochemistry dealing with macromolecular structures such as lipopolysaccharides.

Founded in 1848, AAAS is the world's largest general scientific society, and publisher of the journal Science. For more information on AAAS, go to

More Stories