Professor Thomas Wenisch has been awarded a National Science Foundation Faculty Early Career Development Program (CAREER) award for his research project Programming Interfaces and Hardware Designs for a Polymorphic Multicore Cache Architecture. The CAREER Program offers the National Science Foundation's most prestigious awards in support of junior faculty who exemplify the role of teacher-scholars through outstanding research, excellent education and the integration of education and research within the context of the mission of their organizations.

Deborah Loewenberg Ball, dean of the School of Education, William H. Payne Collegiate Professor of Education and Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, was presented in January with the 19th annual Louise Hay Award by the Association for Women in Mathematics (AWM) in Washington, D.C. Ball was recognized for her contributions to mathematics education and her leadership in advancing mathematics teacher education.