The University of MichiganNews Services
The University Record Online
Updated 10:00 AM July 27, 2009

record update




view events

submit events

UM employment

police beat
regents round-up
research reporter


Advertise with Record

contact us
meet the staff
contact us


Dr. Theodore Lawrence has been selected to receive the 2009 Gold Medal from the American Society for Radiation Oncology for outstanding contributions to the field, including research, clinical care, teaching and service. His research interests include new treatments for liver and pancreas cancer and brain tumors.

U-M Geriatrics Center Director Dr. Jeffrey Halter was honored for his leadership and commitment to geriatric medicine by the Glacier Hills Retirement Community at a recent tribute presented in partnership with community sponsors. The event was in celebration of the facility's 35th anniversary and the decades-long collaboration between the U-M Health System and Glacier Hills, where geriatric medicine fellows provide care to residents.

Dr. Ted Skolarus has been named an American Urological Association Foundation Research Scholar for 2009. The foundation's Scholar Program supports young scientists in the early stages of their research careers with a $30,000 salary stipend for each year of the award, matched by the researcher's institution.

Mark Padilla, assistant professor of health behavior and health education, School of Public Health, and adjunct assistant professor, anthropology, LSA, has been selected by The Society for the Scientific Study of Sexuality (SSSS) to receive this year's John Money Award for 2009. It is given annually by the Eastern Region of the SSSS to a scholar who has made significant contributions to the understanding of human sexuality. The award recognizes his work on masculinity and sexuality in the Dominican Republic.

Ed Larsen has been named to receive the Eugene P. Wigner Reactor Physicist Award from the American Nuclear Society's Reactor Physics Division. The award recognizes accomplishments in reactor physics and particle transport over a career that spans three decades. The award will be presented at the Honors and Awards Luncheon at the ANS Winter Meeting in November in Washington, D.C.

More Stories