The University of MichiganNews Services
The University Record Online
Updated 10:00 AM June 8, 2009

record update




view events

submit events

UM employment

police beat
regents round-up
research reporter


Advertise with Record

contact us
meet the staff
contact us

Hopwood Awards honor 32 for writing

Thirty-two U-M students have received writing prizes in the Hopwood Awards and other contests administered by the Hopwood Awards Program.

With the prizes, the legacy of Avery Hopwood, a 1905 U-M graduate and the most successful Broadway playwright of the 1920s, continues to grow.

Winners from Ann Arbor are: Hannah Ensor, Hopwood Undergraduate Poetry Award, $9,000, and Paul and Sonia Handleman Poetry Award, $2,600; Bradford Kammin, Hopwood Novel Award, $10,500, and Geoffrey James Gosling Prize, $750; Lowen Liu, Hopwood Graduate Short Fiction Award, $3,000; Rebecca Porte, Hopwood Graduate Nonfiction Award, $6,000; Sara Schaff, Hopwood Drama Award, $5,500; Jessica Young, Meader Family Award, $2,800.

Other Michigan winners, listed alphabetically by their hometown, are:

John Willoughby of Bloomfield Hills, Hopwood Undergraduate Nonfiction Award, $3,000; Paul Haapaniemi of Farmington, Hopwood Screenplay Award, $4,500, and Kasdan Scholarship in Creative Writing, $7,400; Eric Harburn of Flint, Leonard and Eileen Newman Prize in Dramatic Writing, $1,000; Catherine R. Smyka of Grand Rapids, Hopwood Drama Award, $3,000, and Dennis McIntyre Prize for Distinction in Undergraduate Playwriting, $3,300; Brian Alkire of Laurium, Arthur Miller Award of the U-M Club of New York Scholarship Fund, $2,000 tuition credit; Ariel Kennedy of Lathrup Village, Hopwood Undergraduate Poetry Award, $3,000; Megan Cummins of Northville, Hopwood Undergraduate Short Fiction Award, $9,500, and Robert F. Haugh Prize, $2,500; Brendt Rioux of Rochester Hills, Hopwood Screenplay Award, $7,500, and Naomi Saferstein Literary Award $1,100; Timothy Hedges of Royal Oak, Hopwood Graduate Nonfiction Award, $6,000, and John Wagner Prize, $1,000; Perry Janes of Royal Oak, Hopwood Undergraduate Poetry Award, $4,500; Joshua Buursma of St. Joseph, Hopwood Award Theodore Roethke Prize, $5,000, and Meader Family Award, $2,800; Amanda Adelson of West Bloomfield, Hopwood Screenplay Award, $7,000; Catherine Shubert of West Bloomfield, Hopwood Undergraduate Nonfiction Award, $8,000, and Helen J. Daniels Prize, $3,000.

Winners also include:

Megan Tucker of Burlingame, Calif., Leonard and Eileen Newman Writing Prize in Fiction, $1,000; Emily McLaughlin of New Haven, Conn., Chamberlain Award for Creative Writing, $3,250; Sara Beth Ferguson of Hamilton, Ga., Hopwood Drama Award, $4,000, Hopwood Graduate Poetry Award, $6,000, and Helen S. and John Wagner Prize, $1,000; Jessie Roy of Madisonville, Ky., Hopwood Undergraduate Short Fiction Award, $9,500, and Stanley S. Schwartz Prize, $500; Jeremy Borovitz of Paramus, N.J., Hopwood Undergraduate Nonfiction Award, $8,000; Seth Moore of Larchmont, N.Y., Hopwood Drama Award, $4,000, and Dennis McIntyre Prize for Distinction in Undergraduate Playwriting, $3,300; Juliet Fara of New York, N.Y., Hopwood Graduate Nonfiction Award, $3,500; Dana Kletter of Raleigh, N.C., Hopwood Novel Award, $8,500; Kimberly Jacobson of Cleveland, Ohio, Hopwood Screenplay Award, $4,500; Shira Handler of Columbus, Ohio, Hopwood Graduate Short Fiction Award, $6,000; Brian Short of Holland, Pa., Hopwood Graduate Short Fiction Award, $6,000, and Andrea Beauchamp Prize, $1,000; Kyle Booten of Brentwood, Tenn., Hopwood Graduate Poetry Award, $6000; Sheera Talpaz of Houston, Texas, Hopwood Graduate Poetry Award, $5,000.

For more on the Hopwood program, go to

More Stories