Duane Kirking, professor emeritus of the College of Pharmacy's Department of Social and Administrative Sciences, research scientist emeritus at the School of Public Health, has been elected chairman of the U.S. Pharmacopeial Convention Board of Trustees. Kirking has 30 years of involvement with medication use-related research, service and teaching.


Zhuoqing Mao, the Morris Wellman Faculty Development Assistant Professor of Computer Science and Engineering, and assistant professor of electrical engineering and computer science, College of Engineering; and Haoxing Xu, assistant professor of molecular, cellular and developmental biology, LSA, have been awarded 2009 Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Research Fellowships. Sloan Fellowships seek to stimulate fundamental research by early-career scientists and scholars of outstanding promise. The two-year fellowships are awarded in recognition of distinguished performance and a unique potential to make substantial contributions to their field.