Tresa Pollock, the L. H. and F. E. Van Vlack Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, and professor of materials science and engineering, College of Engineering, has received the highest honor of the honorary class of fellow given for outstanding accomplishments by The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society. A fellow is recognized as an eminent authority and contributor within the field of metallurgy, and outstanding service to the society also is considered. Pollock was honored for seminal contributions in the understanding of high temperature alloys, and for distinguished leadership in materials education and the materials profession.

David Sherman, the Hans W. Vahlteich Professor of Medicinal Chemistry, College of Pharmacy, and professor of life sciences, Life Sciences Institute, is one of 10 scientists from across the country to receive the Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award from the American Chemical Society. The Cope awards recognize and encourage excellence in organic chemistry. Each Cope Scholar Award consists of $5,000, a certificate and an unrestricted research grant of $40,000.