Regents Roundup

The following items were approved by the Board of Regents at its Oct. 23 meeting.

Plaza at Depression Center to be named

Richard Scott Noble taught philosophy, humanities and medical ethics in the University's Inteflex program until his retirement in 1999, and also was a patient at the Depression Center before his death in 2005. In recognition of the support of the Donald and Alice Noble Foundation for the Depression Center and to honor Noble's memory, the plaza at the south entrance of the Rachel Upjohn Building on the East Medical Campus, which houses the Depression Center and the Department of Psychiatry, formally will be designated as the Richard Scott Noble Plaza.

New chiller planned for Kellogg Eye Center

The existing chiller at the Kellogg Eye Center will be replaced with a more efficient model as part of the University's General Fund building chiller replacement program. The $1.95 million project is expected to be completed next spring.

Ground lease to Great Lakes Camp approved

The University will lease approximately 90 acres of the Fresh Air Camp and 10 acres of the Edwin S. George Reserve in Livingston County to the Great Lakes Camp (GLC), a Michigan non-profit corporation. The 30-year ground lease will allow GLC to construct new facilities for a camp for children with chronic or life-threatening illnesses or other serious medical conditions. Future collaboration agreements planned by GLC with the U-M Health System will further UMHS's mission to provide services to children with special health needs.

Brehm naming approved

Four years ago next month, the U-M Health System announced a $44 million gift from Bill and Dee Brehm for diabetes research and facilities. That gift is helping to build the Kellogg Eye Center expansion building that will also be the home to the Brehm Center for Type 1 Diabetes Research and Analysis when it opens in spring of 2010. The Regents have approved a plan to name the new tower, within the Kellogg Eye Center, for the Brehms. In addition to the naming, the UMHS notes the Brehm Center's progress in recruiting the first four Brehm Scientists to the Medical School faculty, to perform research funded in part by the gift. The scientists are working with many other diabetes researchers around the University toward the goal that the Brehms have set: to accelerate the search for a cure.

Administrative appointments

Dr. John Del Valle, interim chair, Department of Internal Medicine, Medical School, effective Oct. 1, 2008.

Faculty promotions with tenure

Karl Daubmann, associate professor of architecture, Alfred Taubman College of Architecture + Urban Planning, effective Sept. 1.

Christy Harris Lemak, associate professor of health management and policy, School of Public Health (SPH), effective Jan. 1, 2009.

Named professorships

Joan Durrance, Margaret Mann Collegiate Professor of Information, School of Information, effective Jan. 1, 2009-Dec. 31, 2014.

Dana Dolinoy Cipolla, John G. Searle Assistant Professor of Environmental Health Sciences, SPH, effective Nov. 1, 2008-Oct. 31, 2011.

Daniel Halberstam, Eric Stein Collegiate Professor of Law, Law School, effective Nov. 1, 2008-Oct. 31, 2013.

Ian A. Hiskens, Vennema Professor of Engineering, College of Engineering, effective Sept. 1, 2008-Aug. 31, 2013.

Jessica Litman, John F. Nickoll Professor of Law, Law School, effective Nov. 1, 2008-Oct. 31, 2013.

Bhramar Mukherjee, John G. Searle Assistant Professor of Biostatistics, SPH, effective Nov. 1, 2008-Oct. 31, 2011.

Adam Pritchard, Frances and George Skestos Professor of Law, Law School, effective Nov. 1, 2008-Oct. 31, 2013.

Margaret Jane Radin, Henry King Ransom Professor of Law, Law School, effective Nov. 1, 2008-Oct. 31, 2013.

Alan Saltiel, change in title to Mary Sue Coleman Director of the Life Sciences Institute, effective Oct. 1.

Dearborn campus

Lee Freeman, associate dean of administration, School of Management, effective Sept. 1, 2008-Aug. 31, 2011.

Lee Redding, associate dean of academic affairs, School of Management, effective Oct. 1, 2008-Sept. 30, 2011.

Flint campus

Kathleen Woehrle, acting chair, Department of Social Work, School of Education and Human Services, effective Sept. 1, 2008-Aug. 31, 2009.


Janice Bernsten, associate professor of linguistics in the College of Arts and Sciences at U-M-Flint, effective June 30. She joined U-M in 1990. Bernsten is internationally known for her research on sociolinguistics, the study of language and society. Most recently she examined gender and discourse issues at auto plants in the mid-Michigan region and in California.

Dorothy Davis, associate librarian at U-M-Flint, effective June 30. She joined U-M in 1977. She was among the first librarians hired to organize the newly independent library at the U-M-Flint. The library had been designated as a federal depository and Davis was responsible for administering its collection of U.S. government publications.

Donald Geister, research scientist and lecturer in aerospace engineering, College of Engineering, effective June 30. He joined U-M in 1963. His research encompasses many fields, including high temperature flows, computer graphics and production of computer-animated films. He was a key instructor in the aerospace engineering and mechanical engineering departments.

Dr. Eustace Stevers Golladay, clinical professor of surgery, Medical School, effective Oct. 31. He joined U-M in 1995. He is the author of more than 100 journal articles, 15 book chapters and one book. He has been recognized as an outstanding clinician and surgeon and an enthusiastic and effective teacher of medical students, surgical residents and pediatric fellows.

Dr. Jeffrey Shotwell, associate professor of dentistry, School of Dentistry, effective Oct. 31. He joined the University in 1973. He helped develop and teach many undergraduate and graduate courses and has served on many thesis committees. He was the ombudsman for the school from 1993-2002 and was a representative to the Senate Assembly from 1996-99.

Donald Wieland, professor of radiology, Medical School, effective June 31. He joined the University in 1975. He is highly regarded for his investigations of the structure-distribution relationship of labeled compounds used to detect and localize neuron-endocrine abnormalities in patients. He has more than 100 publications in scientific journals.