The University of MichiganNews Services
The University Record Online
Updated 10:00 AM September 22, 2008




view events

submit events

UM employment

police beat
regents round-up
research reporter


Advertise with Record

contact us
meet the staff
contact us
contact us

Search for associate vice president for finance underway

Timothy Slottow, executive vice president and chief financial officer, appointed an eight-person committee to advise him in the national search for a new associate vice president for finance. The committee will find a replacement for Peggy Norgren, who died in August, after serving as the associate vice president for finance since 2004.

The associate vice president for finance manages a financial organization that is directly responsible for central oversight of treasury and financial functions, including internal/external financial reporting, debt policy and implementation, cash management, risk management, financial analysis, procurement/supply chain management, accounts payable, billing/accounts receivable, tax management, payroll, sponsored programs/contract administration, indirect cost negotiation, student loans, enterprisewide financial systems, internal controls, and auxiliary services (printing/copy centers and mail service).

Laura Patterson, associate vice president for administration information systems, Michigan Administrative Information Services, will chair the Search Advisory Committee. Other members of the committee are:

• Anne Berens, assistant vice provost, Office of the Provost

• Anthony Francis, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor of Chemistry and associate dean for budget, LSA

• Gloria Hage, associate vice president and deputy general counsel, Office of the General Counsel

• David Morlock, senior associate director and chief financial officer, U-M Hospitals and Health Centers

• Loren Rullman, associate vice president for student affairs, Division of Student Affairs

• Virginia Wait, executive director, resource planning and management, College of Engineering

• Cheryl Reed, executive secretary to the associate vice president for finance, staff to the committee

Slottow asked the committee to work with Brill Neumann, an executive search firm based in Boston that specializes in higher education. The committee invites applicants to submit a letter of interest and curriculum vitae to: Elizabeth Adkins Neumann, Principal, Brill Neumann, 312 Stuart Street, Boston, MA, 02116, with a copy to Rebecca Kennedy, Adkins can be reached by phone at (617) 753-1810 and via e-mail at

More Stories