The University Record, May 8, 2000


Sullivant invited to full Beta Phi Mu membership

Larissa Sullivant, information resources specialist in the Slavic and East European Division of Area Programs, University Library, has been invited to full membership in Beta Phi Mu, the international library and information science society. The organization recognizes distinguished achievement in library science.

Kurdak receives Sloan Research Fellowship

Cagliyan Kurdak, assistant professor of physics, is one of 104 scientists and economists chosen from more than 400 candidates to receive an Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Research Fellowship. The Sloan Fellowships are awarded to young scholars who exhibit exceptional promise to contribute to the advancement of knowledge. Candidates for the fellowships are nominated by department chairs and other senior scholars who are familiar with their work. Grants of $40,000 for a two-year period are given to each fellow.

Nearly $87 million has been awarded to 3,500 researchers since the Sloan Foundation Fellowship program’s inception in 1955. Twenty-four former Sloan Fellows have received Nobel prizes, and hundreds have received other prestigious awards.

Goodenough is among new SVHE fellows

Elizabeth Noble Goodenough, lecturer in English, Residential College, is among 14 new fellows recently elected to the Society for Values in Higher Education (SVHE). The Society aims to promote ethical issues—integrity, diversity, social justice and civic responsibility—that are facing higher education and the wider society.

SVHE membership entails involvement in national and regional projects intended to fulfill the organization’s mission. Goodenough and the other new fellows have been invited to attend the 2000 meeting of SVHE fellows at Colorado College and to serve as mentors to the teachers chosen to participate in the first of a series of Workshops for New Teachers.

Heller appointed to higher education policy advisory board

Donald E. Heller, assistant professor of education, has been appointed to the Associates Program of the non-profit National Center for Public Policy and Higher Education.

The Associates Program, supported by the Ford Foundation, is a 10-member group that will advise the Center on major trends in higher education policy. Early- to mid-career professionals from academia, government and other non-profit organizations were selected using a rigorous nomination and application process.

Heller, who recently co-authored a study on institutional need-based and merit-based aid, is studying the impact of high-stakes testing in high schools on the awarding of merit-based financial aid.

Schwenk elected to ABFP

Thomas L. Schwenk, professor and chair, Department of Family Medicine, has been elected to the board of directors of the American Board of Family Practice (ABFP).

Lydic named president of SRS

Ralph Lydic, the Bert N. Ladu Professor of Anesthesiology Research and professor of physiology, was named president of the Sleep Research Society (SRS).

Green chosen as Health Services Institute fellow

Carmen Green, assistant professor of anesthesiology, was named a fellow of the Association of American Medical Colleges Health Services Institute.

Aupperle receives Outstanding Engineer Award, Third Millennium Medal

Eric Aupperle, research scientist, Information Technology Division, and president of Merit Network Inc., has received the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers Inc. (IEEE) Southeastern Michigan (SEM) section’s Outstanding Engineer of the Year Award for technical achievements and the Third Millennium Medal for long-term service and contributions.

The annual Outstanding Engineer Award was presented to Aupperle for his service to IEEE/SEM and his contributions to the development of today’s Internet. He also has held eight regional officer positions in the organization since he became a member in 1955. The Third Millennium Medal is a one-time award for the year 2000 that honors a select group of IEEE members for their “outstanding contributions to their respective areas of activity.”

Aupperle played a vital role in the formation of the Internet by developing and operating NSFnet (the precursor to today’s Internet) through Merit Network Inc. Merit was responsible for engineering, managing and operating this Internet backbone from 1987 to April 1995, when NSFnet was decommissioned.

Astor receives Johnson Award

Ron A. Astor, assistant professor of social work and of education, has received the Palmer O. Johnson Award from the American Educational Research Association (AERA) for outstanding primary research.

Astor and recent U-M doctoral degree graduates Heather A. Meyer and William J. Behre were honored for their article “Unowned Places and Times: Maps and Interviews about Violence in High Schools.” The article appeared in the spring 1999 issue of the American Educational Research Journal.

The award, established in 1967, is given each year for the best article appearing in any of the six academic journals published by AERA. It is named in honor of Palmer O. Johnson, a dedicated educator and pioneer in educational research and methodology.

Camburn’s article honored by EAQ

Eric Camburn, assistant research scientist, School of Education, along with colleagues Anthony Byrk and Karen Seashore Lewis, recently received the William J. Davis Memorial Award for the most outstanding article in Volume 35 of the Educational Administration Quarterly (EAQ). “Professional Community in Chicago Elementary Schools: Facilitating Factors and Organizational Consequences” was chosen by a committee of four scholars who reviewed all the articles appearing in Volume 35.