Office of the Vice President for Global Communications

Tuesday, September 8, 2009

UM-Dearborn gives out Susan B. Anthony, community awards

Bonnie Beyer, professor of educational administration and public administration at UM-Dearborn, and Patricia Schlaff, special events manager for the university’s Fairlane Center, have been chosen by the campus’s Commission for Women (CFW) as recipients of the 31st annual Susan B. Anthony award.

Also, Cheryl Johnson, chief executive officer of the Coalition on Temporary Shelter, received the sixth annual Susan B. Anthony Community Award.

The Susan B. Anthony Award recognizes a member of the UM-Dearborn campus community who has made significant contributions to gender equality. The Susan B. Anthony Community Award was created in 2004 to recognize individuals who advance the cause of women's equality in southeastern Michigan.

The honors speak “to the incredibly strong nominations we received, as well as the great affection that as been developed by the campus community for these women who are strong role models of the Susan B. Anthony motto, ‘Failure is impossible’,” says mathematics lecturer Timothy McKenna, who serves on the CFW’s executive board.

The awards were presented during a ceremony April 9.

For more on the Susan B. Anthony Awards, go to

For more about the Susan B. Anthony Community Award, go to