Office of the Vice President for Global Communications

Tuesday, January 12, 2010

Sullivan takes top post at UVA, joins distinguished list of former U-M leaders serving in top positions

Read the University of Virginia's announcement of Sullivan's appointment >

Provost Teresa Sullivan was unanimously approved Monday as the eighth president of the University of Virginia. Her appointment is effective Aug. 1.

“Since joining U-M in 2006, Provost Sullivan has provided a level of academic and budgetary acumen that has solidified and advanced the University at all levels,” President Mary Sue Coleman wrote in a message to campus. “Her selection as UVA’s eighth president is a testament to her abilities and achievements as a leader.”

In announcing her as the next president of the historic university founded by Thomas Jefferson, University Rector John Wynne described Sullivan as “intellectually curious, creative, direct, analytical, results-driven and empathetic, a great communicator and listener — and good company.”

Wynne said Sullivan is “one of those truly rare people” who is an accomplished academic with a great understanding of budgets, health care, student life, town-gown relationships and communication.

Sullivan's husband, Douglas Laycock, a member of the Law School faculty, has taken a position with the UVA School of Law.

Sullivan will remain at U-M until July 31. Coleman said she anticipates announcing a successor before Sullivan leaves.

“The University of Michigan has long been a wellspring of higher education leaders, and while we will miss Provost Sullivan greatly, we also take pride in knowing she will preside over one of this country’s great public universities,” Coleman said.

The Office of the Vice President for Communications keeps a list of known alumni and former administrators leading institutions of higher education. The leaders and their current titles, followed by their roles at U-M, include:

Sitting presidents

Paula Allen-Meares — chancellor, University of Illinois-Chicago —
School of Social Work dean

Rodolfo Arévalo — president, Eastern Washington University — alumnus

David Arnold — president, American University in Cairo — alumnus

Tony Atwater — president, Indiana University of Pennsylvania — former postdoctoral student

Stephanie Bergeron – president and chief executive officer, Walsh College -- alumna

Lee Bollinger — president, Columbia University — president, Law School dean

Sean T. Buffington — president, University of the Arts, Pennsylvania — alumnu

Gaylen J. Byker – president, Calvin College -- alumnus

Nancy Cantor — president, Syracuse University — provost, Rackham School of Graduate Studies dean, psychology professor

Ralph J. Cicerone — president, National Academy of Sciences, and chair, National Research Council — research scientist, professor of electrical and computer engineering

Barbara Couture — president, New Mexico State University — alumna

Joanne Creighton — president, Mount Holyoke College — alumna

Christopher C. Dahl — president, SUNY-Geneseo — professor, UM-Dearborn

David Eisler — president, Ferris State University — alumnus

Sister Janet Eisner — president, Emmanuel College, Massachusetts — alumna

Antonio Flores — president and chief executive officer of the Hispanic Association of Colleges and Universities — alumnus

Dr. Larry J. Goodman — president, Rush University and Rush University Medical Center — alumnus

Thomas J. Haas — president, Grand Valley State University – alumnus

Elaine Tuttle Hansen — president, Bates College — associate research editor, Middle English Dictionary

Walter Harrison — president, University of Hartford, Connecticut — vice president for university relations, alumnus

Maureen A. Hartford — president, Meredith College, North Carolina — vice president for student affairs

John M. Hilpert — president, Delta State University, Mississippi — alumnus

Lloyd Jacobs — president, University of Toledo — professor of surgery, Medical School senior associate dean

Richard G. Jewell — president, Grove City College, Pennsylvania — alumnus

Linda Katehi — chancellor, University of California-Davis — associate dean for academic affairs and graduate education, College of Engineering, professor of electrical engineering and computer science

Kathy Krendl — president, Otterbein College (Ohio) — alumna

Marvin Krislov — president, Oberlin College — vice president and general counsel

J. Bernard Machen — president, University of Florida — provost, Dental School dean

Susan Martin — president, Eastern Michigan University — provost, UM-Dearborn

James H. McCormick — chancellor, Minnesota State Colleges Universities System — post-doctoral study

Alan G. Merten — president, George Mason University — associate dean for Executive Education and Computing Services, Business School, professor of industrial and operations engineering

James L. Muyskens — president, Queens College-CUNY — alumnus

Richard J. Pappas — President, Davenport University (MI) — alumnus

Ruth Person — chancellor, UM-Flint — alumna

Pamela Trotman Reid — president, Saint Joseph College, Connecticut — former director, Women’s Studies Program

Jehuda Reinharz — president, Brandeis University — professor of Jewish history, founder of program in Judaic Studies

Marilyn J. Schlack — President, Kalamazoo Valley Community College — alumna

Joel Seligman — president, University of Rochester, New York — professor, Law School

James Spaniolo — president, University of Texas-Arlington — alumnus

David J. Steinberg — president, Long Island University — professor of history

Rev. Gerard J. Stockhausen — president, University of Detroit Mercy — alumnus

Beverly Daniel Tatum — president, Spelman College – alumna

Charles M. Vest — president, National Academy of Engineering – alumnus, faculty, dean, provost

David L. Warren — president, National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities — alumnus

Robert Weisbuch — president, Drew University, New Jersey — chair of Department of English, associate vice president for research, associate dean for faculty programs, interim dean at the Rackham School of Graduate Studies, president, Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Foundation

Timothy P. White — chancellor, University of California, Riverside — professor and chair, Department of Movement Science, research scientist, Institute of Gerontology, post-doctoral scholar in physiology

Richard F. Wilson — president, Illinois Wesleyan University — alumnus, research associate, Office of Academic Planning and Analysis

Michael T. Wood — president, Capitol College, Maryland — alumnus