Office of the Vice President for Global Communications

Monday, January 18, 2010

Distinguished University Professor lectures announced

A new season of Distinguished University Professor lectures begins Feb. 2 as the first of five faculty members who have received one of the university’s top honors will present topics that highlight their work at U-M.

In a tradition that began eight years ago, recently appointed DUPs give an inaugural lecture, typically during the first or second full year of their appointments.

The lectures all will be presented at 4 p.m. in Rackham Amphitheatre. A reception follows each presentation.

The University Record will present a preview of each lecture, beginning in this week’s issue with the first presenter, Linda Gregerson, who will lecture Feb. 2. In 2008 Gregerson was named the Caroline Walker Bynum Distinguished University Professor of English. She also is a professor of English, LSA.

The dates of other lectures are:

• Feb. 15 — Michael Boehnke, named in 2008 as the Richard G. Cornell Distinguished University Professor of Biostatistics. He also is a professor of biostatistics, School of Public Health.

• Feb. 25 — Bruce Frier, named in 2008 as the John and Teresa D’Arms Distinguished University Professor of Classics and Roman Law. He also is a professor of classical studies, LSA, and the Henry King Ransom Professor of Law and professor of law, Law School.

• March 29 — A. Galip Ulsoy, named in 2009 as the C.D. Mote Jr. Distinguished University Professor of Mechanical Engineering. He also is the William Clay Ford Professor of Manufacturing, Department of Mechanical Engineering, College of Engineering.

• April 6 — William Fulton, named in 2009 as the Oscar Zariski Distinguished University Professor of Mathematics. He also is the Miner and Mary Ann Keeler Chair in Mathematics, Department of Mathematics, LSA.

Distinguished University Professorships, established in 1947, recognize full or associate professors for exceptional scholarly and/or creative achievement, national and international reputation, and superior teaching skills. Each professorship bears a name determined by the appointive professor in consultation with her or his dean.

Recipients get an annual salary supplement of $5,000 and an annual research supplement of $5,000.