Office of the Vice President for Global Communications

Thursday, April 1, 2010

National Academy of Public Administration inducts Barry Rabe as a fellow

Barry Rabe, professor of public policy in the Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy, has been inducted as a fellow of the National Academy of Public Administration.

The 600 individuals in the nation who hold this position include top leaders, policymakers, and public managers in federal, state and local government; distinguished scholars of public policy and public management; and leading corporate and labor leaders.

“We’re so pleased that the National Academy has recognized Barry’s distinguished contributions to the field of public administration,” says Susan Collins, dean of the Ford School. “Barry is a terrific teacher whose scholarly work has had important impacts on environmental policy, and I know he’ll bring that same rigor and dedication to his work for the National Academy.”

Rabe’s research examines state and regional development of policies to reduce greenhouse gases. In 2006, he became the first social scientist to receive a Climate Protection Award from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency in recognition of his contribution to both scholarship and policy making.

Rabe, who also is a professor of the environment in LSA, has written extensively about nuclear and hazardous waste management, cross-border and cross-media transfer of pollutants in federal regulatory systems, and the conditions necessary to achieve intergovernmental cooperation in the implementation of federal grant and regulatory programs.

At U-M, he has served as director of the Program in the Environment and interim dean of the School of Natural Resources and Environment. In 2007, he received the Daniel Elazar Award for Career Contribution to the Study of Federalism from the American Political Science Association.

Established by Congress, the National Academy of Public Administration and its fellows assist the federal government with complex management problems through the work of commissions and panels.

Other U-M faculty who have been previously named NAPA fellows are Edie Goldenberg, professor of political science and public policy; Sallyanne Payton, William W. Cook Professor of Law and professor of art and design; and Sally Katzen Dyk, intermittent lecturer in law and political science.