Office of the Vice President for Global Communications

Tuesday, April 13, 2010

Rothman, Poe elected to SACUA leadership
posts for 2010-11

Edward Rothman
Gina Poe

The Senate Advisory Committee on University Affairs on Monday elected Edward Rothman, professor of statistics, to chair the university’s faculty governance system for the coming year.

Gina Poe, associate professor of anesthesiology, was elected vice chair.

They also will serve as chair and vice chair, respectively, of the 73-member Senate Assembly. SACUA is the nine-member executive arm of the Senate Assembly and the University Senate.

The chair and vice chair terms are for one year beginning May 1. Rothman and Poe were the only candidates for the positions, and their election was by acclimation of the committee.

Rothman also is an adjunct professor of economics and director of the Center for Statistical Consultation and Research. Poe also is an associate professor of molecular and integrative physiology.

They will succeed current SACUA Chair Michael Thouless, professor of materials science and engineering, and mechanical engineering; and Vice Chair M. Robert Fraser, associate director for scholarly resources at UM-Dearborn’s Mardigian Library.