Office of the Vice President for Global Communications

Tuesday, October 12, 2010

Two from university elected to the Institute of Medicine

Two U-M faculty members have been elected to the Institute of Medicine, the health unit of the National Academy of Sciences.

Elected to the IOM were:

Dr. Peter Polverini, dean and professor, School of Dentistry; professor of pathology, Medical School.

Dr. Diane Simeone, Lazar J. Greenfield Professor of Surgery, professor of surgery and molecular and integrative physiology, and division chief of gastrointestinal surgery, Medical School.

The IOM was established in 1970 to advise members of Congress, congressional staff and agency leaders on a range of important health care issues.