Office of the Vice President for Global Communications

Monday, January 10, 2011

Lecture dates set for Distinguished University Professors

Four faculty members who have received one of the university's top honors will offer Distinguished University Professor lectures beginning Jan. 26, presenting topics that highlight their work at U-M.

In a tradition that began nine years ago, recently appointed DUPs give an inaugural lecture, typically during the first or second full year of their appointments.

The lectures all will be presented at 4 p.m. in Rackham Amphitheatre. A reception follows each presentation in Assembly Hall.

The University Record will present a preview of each lecture.

The presenters are:

• Jan. 26 — David Halperin, named in 2010 as the W. H. Auden Distinguished University Professor of the History and Theory of Sexuality. He also is a professor of English language and literature, women's studies and comparative literature, and adjunct professor of classical studies, LSA.

• March 14 — Jacquelynne Eccles, named in 2009 as the William McKeachie and Paul Pintrich Distinguished University Professor of Psychology and Education. She also is professor of psychology, Department of Psychology, LSA; professor of education, School of Education; and research professor, Research Center for Group Dynamics, Institute for Social Research.

• April 4 — Rodney C. Ewing, named in 2009 as the Edward H. Kraus Distinguished University Professor of Geological Sciences. He also is professor of geological sciences, Department of Geological Sciences, LSA; professor of materials science and engineering, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, and professor of nuclear engineering and radiological sciences, Department of Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences, College of Engineering.

• April 11 — John Vandermeer, named in 2009 as the Asa Gray Distinguished University Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology. He also is an Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, LSA.

Distinguished University Professorships, established in 1947, recognize full or associate professors for exceptional scholarly and/or creative achievement, national and international reputation, and superior teaching skills. Each professorship bears a name determined by the appointive professor in consultation with her or his dean.

Recipients get an annual salary supplement of $5,000 and an annual research supplement of $5,000.