Office of the Vice President for Global Communications

Friday, April 8, 2011

U-M faculty members awarded Guggenheim Fellowships for research

Five U-M faculty members can add the prestigious Guggenheim Fellowship to their list of honors and awards.

The John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation awarded the 180 fellowships Thursday to individuals for distinguished achievement in the past and exceptional promise for future accomplishment.

The U-M fellows and the topics for which they were honored are:

  Arun Agrawal   Jeffrey Heath
  Mark Mizruchi   Endi Poskovic

• Arun Agrawal, professor and associate dean for research, School of Natural Resources and Environment — Poverty and adaptation.

• Jeffrey Heath, professor of linguistics — Textual and video documentation of the Dogon languages of Mali.

• Mark Mizruchi, professor of sociology and business — The decline of the American corporate elite.

• Endi Poskovic, artist and associate professor of art and design — Fine arts.

• Jennifer Robertson, professor of anthropology — Safety, security, convenience: The political economy of service robots in Japan.

  Jennifer Robertson

"Our faculty members who've been selected for Guggenheim Fellowships are outstanding scholars in their disciplines," says Provost Phil Hanlon. "They exemplify the strength and diversity of faculty work at the university and we are very proud of their accomplishments."  

The 2011 Guggenheim Fellowship winners include artists, scholars, and scientists selected from a pool of more than 3,000 applicants. Since 1925, the foundation has granted almost $290 million in fellowships to more than 17,000 individuals in the United States and Canada.

The full list of 2011 fellows is available at