Office of the Vice President for Global Communications

Tuesday, April 24, 2012

The U-M Supermileage Team is a new student project team within the College of Engineering that is attempting to increase the fuel-efficiency of the internal combustion engine. In this video, team members outline their goal to design and build a custom, ultra-efficient vehicle that can set a new North American record of 3,300 miles per gallon. Read more about the Supermileage Team.

U-M researchers awarded $1.7 million to help solve riddle of resurgent whooping cough
Two U-M population ecologists have been awarded a $1.7 million grant from the National Institutes of Health for a five-year study that will try to explain the changing patterns of whooping cough outbreaks.

Faculty member to lead $1M study of how internal clock controls mood
A U-M faculty member will lead an international, $1 million project examining the links between bipolar disorder and abnormalities in the circadian, or daily, rhythms of a mammal’s internal clock.

Section of South State Street to close temporarily starting next Monday
The City of Ann Arbor will close the northbound lane of South State Street from Stimson Street to Granger Avenue from April 30 until July 12. The temporary closure is associated with the replacement of East Stadium Avenue bridges over South State and the Ann Arbor Railroad.

Tauber Institute wins prize for preparing students in operations research
The Tauber Institute for Global Operations has been awarded the first UPS George D. Smith Prize for effective and innovative preparation of students to be good practitioners of operations research, management science, or analytics.

The Michigan Difference

Public service in the city
Serving in the office of Detroit Mayor Dave Bing gave Elizabeth Palazzola and Julie Schneider a chance to help the city’s land use, housing and sustainability problems as the Ford School's inaugural David Bohnett Public Service Fellows. The program aims to give aspiring public servants experience with city government. It continues with incoming fellows Diana Flora and Stephanie Chang.