Office of the Vice President for Global Communications

Tuesday, May 29, 2012

Advisory committee named for Law School dean search

Provost Phil Hanlon has named a search advisory committee for the next dean of the Law School.

Ellen D. Katz, professor of law, Law School, will chair the committee that has been charged with conducting a broad search and presenting a slate of recommended candidates by winter semester 2013. In a March 16 email to faculty and staff at the school, Hanlon wrote that current Dean Evan Caminker will step down Aug. 31, 2013, after almost 10 years of service.

Other members of the committee, who are from the Law School unless otherwise indicated, are:

• Alicia J. Davis, professor of law.

• Alison Davis-Blake, the Edward J. Frey Dean and Leon Festinger Collegiate Professor of Management, Stephen M. Ross School of Business.

• Robert B. Fiske Jr., Law School alumnus and senior counsel, David Polk & Wardwell LLP, New York, N.Y.

• Bruce W. Frier, John and Teresa D’Arms Distinguished University Professor of Classics and Roman Law.

• Kathryn Gilbert, Law School student.

• Monica Hakimi, assistant professor of law.

• Don Herzog, Edson R. Sunderland Professor of Law.

• Kyle D. Logue, Wade H. and Dores M. McCree Collegiate Professor of Law.

• Richard Primus, professor of law.

• Kimberly Thomas, clinical professor of law.

• Sarah C. Zearfoss, senior assistant dean for admissions, financial aid, and career planning, Law School.

In his March email, Hanlon wrote, “Evan has been a strong advocate for programmatic and curricular improvements that have strengthened the Law School as it faces the challenges for legal education. His interest in improving the skill-based curriculum and expanding it to clinical and extra-curricular has led to the establishment of the Zell Entrepreneurship and Law Program and to growth of specialized clinics and other programs.

“The new South Hall and Aikens Commons are impressive both for their functionality and architectural beauty. The stunning restoration and renovation of existing facilities have reaffirmed the distinction of the Law School Quadrangle. Evan’s vision and hard work have moved these building projects forward to completion, for which the Law School community and the entire university can be very proud.”

To recommend candidates or ask questions of the committee members, send an email to For more information on the school, go to