Office of the Vice President for Global Communications

Monday, June 18, 2012

Non-union staff election for DPS Oversight Committee through June 22

The election for the non-union staff member on the Department of Public Safety Oversight Committee now is under way. Online voting is available through 4 p.m. June 22.

The six-member oversight committee consists of two student members, two faculty members (one Senate and one non-Senate faculty), and two staff members (one union and one non-union), who are nominated and elected by their peers for two-year terms.

The committee considers grievances against any public safety officer deputized by the university. Its findings and recommendations are reported to the Office of the Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer.

This year, the term of the non-union staff member is expiring. Therefore, all UM-Ann Arbor and UMHS staff members not represented by a union are eligible to vote in the election. The candidate with the greatest number of votes will be appointed to the committee in July 2012.

To review the statements of the candidates and to register a vote, go to (Voting more than once or for more than one candidate will result in disqualification.)

For questions about the DPS Oversight Committee or the election process, contact Shirley Sindlinger in Staff Human Resource Services at