Office of the Vice President for Global Communications

Thursday, July 18, 2013

Regents name nine Distinguished University Professors

Nine faculty members have received one of the university's top honors as Distinguished University Professors.

The appointments were approved by the Board of Regents on Thursday and will be effective Sept. 1.

In a tradition that began more than 10 years ago, recently appointed DUPs give an inaugural lecture that highlights their work at U-M, typically during the first or second full year of their appointments.

The recipients are:

  E. Anderson   Carter-Su

Elizabeth Anderson


Christin Carter-Su

  Fierke   Gelman

Carol Fierke


Susan Gelman

  Larson   Lieberman

Ronald Larson


Victor Lieberman

  Little   Orringer

Roderick Little


Mark Orringer

  Panos Papalambros    

• Elizabeth S. Anderson was named the John Dewey Distinguished University Professor of Philosophy and Women's Studies. She also is Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, John Rawls Collegiate Professor of Philosophy and Women's Studies, and professor of philosophy and women's studies, LSA.

• Christin Carter-Su was named the Anita H. Payne Distinguished University Professor of Physiology. Carter-Su also is the Henry Sewall Collegiate Professor of Physiology, and professor of molecular and integrative physiology, Medical School.

• Carol A. Fierke was named the Jerome and Isabella Karle Distinguished University Professor of Chemistry. She also is the Jerome and Isabella Karle Collegiate Professor of Chemistry, chair, Department of Chemistry, professor of chemistry, LSA, and professor of biological chemistry, Medical School.

• Susan A. Gelman was named the Heinz Werner Distinguished University Professor of Psychology. She also is the Heinz Werner Collegiate Professor of Psychology, and professor of psychology, LSA.

• Ronald G. Larson was named the A.H. White Distinguished University Professor of Chemical Engineering. He also is the George Granger Brown Professor of Chemical Engineering, professor of chemical engineering, professor of macromolecular science and engineering, and professor of mechanical engineering, College of Engineering.

• Victor B. Lieberman was named the Raoul Wallenberg Distinguished University Professor of History. He also is the Marvin B. Becker Collegiate Professor of History, and professor of history, LSA.

• Roderick J. Little was named the Richard D. Remington Distinguished University Professor of Biostatistics. He also is the Richard D. Remington Collegiate Professor of Biostatistics, professor of biostatistics, School of Public Health, and professor of statistics, LSA.

• Mark B. Orringer was named the Cameron Haight Distinguished University Professor of Thoracic Surgery. He also is the Cameron Haight Collegiate Professor of Thoracic Surgery, and professor of surgery, Medical School.

• Panos Y. Papalambros was named the James B. Angell Distinguished University Professor of Engineering. Papalambros also is the Donald C. Graham Professor of Engineering, professor of mechanical engineering, College of Engineering, professor of architecture, A. Alfred Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning, and professor of art, Penny W. Stamps School of Art & Design.

Distinguished University Professorships, established in 1947, recognize full or associate professors for exceptional scholarly and/or creative achievement, national and international reputation, and superior teaching skills. Each professorship bears a name determined by the appointive professor in consultation with her or his dean.

Recipients receive an annual salary supplement of $5,000 and an annual research supplement of $5,000.