Office of the Vice President for Global Communications

Monday, September 30, 2013

U-M recognizes Radrick Farms employees with safety award

U-M's commitment to safety relies on the support of employees, and Occupational Safety & Environmental Health recognizes employees who excel in creating and maintaining a safe workplace with the Safety First Recognition Award.


Nominations for the next award are due Nov. 29. More information on the Safety First Recognition Award is located on the award webpage.

In 2010, Architecture, Engineering, and Construction and OSEH launched the construction-safety recognition program for contractors who exhibit exemplary safe work practices while working on U-M projects.

The recipient of the inaugural Safety First Recognition Award for employees, given Friday, is the Radrick Farms Golf Course greenskeepers and maintenance staff, which includes:

• Robert Norworyta, Golf Course Greenskeeper II.

• Clint Kutzley, Golf Course Greenskeeper II.

• Levi Moore, Golf Course Greenskeeper I.

• Matt Weiland, Golf Course Greenskeeper I.

• Lincoln White, Auto Mechanic II.

The Radrick Farms Golf Course incorporates intensive equipment safety training for staff, including seasonal staff. The equipment-training program includes initial instruction, equipment operation under supervision, feedback, follow-up training, and performance evaluations.

Radrick Farms Golf Course has not had an injury that prevents the employee from returning to work the next day since 2007.

"We are grateful for the support of Brett Goecke (OSEH senior industrial hygienist) and OSEH in helping us make safety an emphasis in our training program," said Corbin Todd, director of U-M Golf Courses. "The team at Radrick Farms has done a fantastic job of focusing on safety first."

Safety First awardees
From left: Dan Mausolf, Radrick Farms course superintendent; award recipients Clint Kutzley and Lincoln White; Terrance Alexander, executive director OSEH and the Offic of Campus Sustainability; and award recipients Matt Weiland, Levi White and Robert Norworyta. (Photo by Russell Garcia, OSEH)